Dorothy Cannell
Dorothy Cannell is an English-American author of cozy mystery novels. She writes the Ellie Haskell series. Dorothy grew up in London and moved to the United States in 1963 when she was twenty years old. Dorothy and her husband Julian have four children and ten grandchildren. They live in Belfast, Maine.

Dorothy Cannell became a published author in 1984 with the novel The Thin Woman, which was the start of her Ellie Haskell series. The novel was listed as one of the 100 Favorite Mysteries of the Twentieth Century by the Independent Mystery Booksellers Association. Below is a list of Dorothy Cannell’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Dorothy Cannell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ellie Haskell Mystery Books

The Thin Woman (1984)Description / Buy at
The Widow's Club (1988)Description / Buy at
Mum's the Word (1990)Description / Buy at
Femmes Fatal (1992)Description / Buy at
How to Murder Your Mother-In-Law (1994)Description / Buy at
How to Murder the Man of Your Dreams (1995)Description / Buy at
The Spring Cleaning Murders (1998)Description / Buy at
The Trouble with Harriet (1999)Description / Buy at
Bridesmaids Revisited (2000)Description / Buy at
The Importance of Being Ernestine (2002)Description / Buy at
Withering Heights (2007)Description / Buy at
Goodbye, Ms. Chips (2008)Description / Buy at
She Shoots to Conquer (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tessa Fields Books

Down the Garden Path (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Florence Norris Books

Murder at Mullings (2014)Description / Buy at
Death at Dovecote Hatch (2015)Description / Buy at
Peril in the Parish (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

God Save the Queen! (1997)Description / Buy at
Sea Glass Summer (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Family Jewels And Other Stories (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The High Cost of Living (1990)Description / Buy at
The January Sales Stowaway (1991)Description / Buy at
The Family Jewels (1994)Description / Buy at
Cupid’s Arrow (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Sisters in Crime 3(1990)Description / Buy at
Christmas Stalkings(1991)Description / Buy at
The Fine Art of Murder: The Mystery Reader's Indispensable Companion(1993)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 3(1994)Description / Buy at
Funny Bones: 15 New Tales of Murder and Mayhem(1997)Description / Buy at
Naked Came the Farmer(1998)Description / Buy at
Crafty Cat Crimes(2000)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 9(2000)Description / Buy at
The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 2(2000)Description / Buy at
The Sunken Sailor(2004)Description / Buy at

Note: Naked Came the Farmer and The Sunken Sailor were collaborative novels written with several other authors.

If You Like Dorothy Cannell Books, You’ll Love…

Dorothy Cannell Synopsis: The Family Jewels and Other Stories includes the mystery short stories The Purloined Purple Pearl, Cupid’s Arrow, One Night at a Time, Telling George, The January Sale Stowaway, The Gentleman’s Gentleman, Come to Grandma, Fetch, Poor Lincoln, The High Cost of Living and The Family Jewels: A Moral Tale.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Dorothy Cannell Books

One Response to “Order of Dorothy Cannell Books”

  1. Peggy Morrison: 11 months ago

    Wonderful stories. Wish Kindle carried them all.


Leave a Reply