Earl Derr Biggers (1884-1933) was an American author of crime fiction novels. He is the author of the Charlie Chan series. He attended Harvard University. Biggers was never one for what was considered classic literature at the time, instead preferring the works of Rudyard Kipling and Richard Harding Davis. He got hired for by the Boston Traveler for a daily humour column, but soon became their drama critic. He soon met his future wife, Elanor Ladd, who became a major influence in his writing.

Earl Derr Biggers made his debut as a published novelist in 1913 with Seven Keys to Baldpate. Below is a list of Earl Derr Biggers’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Charlie Chan Books

The House Without a Key (1925)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Chinese Parrot (1926)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Behind That Curtain (1928)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Black Camel (1929)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Charlie Chan Carries On (1930)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Keeper of the Keys (1932)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Charlie Chan in the Temple of the Golden Horde (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Charlie Chan Collections

Celebrated Cases of Charlie Chan (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Seven Keys to Baldpate (1913)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Love Insurance (1914)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Inside the Lines (1915)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Agony Column (1916)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Ebony Stick (1916)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Fifty Candles (1926)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Earl Derr Biggers Tells Ten Stories (1933)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

30 Eternal Masterpieces of Humorous Stories(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Notes: Charlie Chan in the Pawns of Death was written by Bill Pronzini and Jeffry Wallman (as Robert Hart Davis). Charlie Chan in The Temple of the Golden Horde was written by Michael Collins (as Robert Hart Davis).

Inside the Lines was co-authored by Robert Welles Ritchie. The Agony Column is also known as Second Floor Mystery.

If You Like Earl Derr Biggers Books, You’ll Love…

Earl Derr Biggers Synopses: Seven Keys to Baldpate is a standalone novel by Earl Derr Biggers. A famous author comes to a summer mountain resort in the dead of winter, determined to find peace and quiet to write his next book. But before his first night is out, a steady stream of unexpected visitors begins to fill the hotel… men and women with stories of love, loss, and flight… none of them telling the truth. Before the week is out, there will be gunfire, bribery, fights in the snow, and hidden truths unmasked.

Fifty Candles is a standalone title by Earl Derr Biggers. Attorney Mark Drew travels from Hawaii to the underbelly of fog-shrouded San Francisco to solve a murder. Along with the puzzle, there is a little dash of romance to keep the plot moving.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Earl Derr Biggers Books

Leave a Reply