Elizabeth J. Duncan is a Canadian author primarily known for her work in the cozy genre, specifically her Penny Brannigan Mystery series. The lead character in that series is a spa owner, manicurist and amateur sleuth who finds herself in the center of some big cases.

Duncan attended Carleton University in Ottawa, Ontario where she received a degree in English. She worked in journalism for many years as both an editor and writer, working for Canadian publications such as the Hamilton Spectator and the Ottawa Citizen. After working in this area for a number of years, she later decided to try her hand at fiction writing and published her first book in 2009.

Get notified when Elizabeth J Duncan releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Penny Brannigan Books

The Cold Light of Mourning (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Brush with Death (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Killer's Christmas in Wales (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Small Hill to Die On (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Never Laugh As a Hearse Goes By (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Slated for Death (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder on the Hour (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder Is for Keeps (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Marmalade Murders (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Remembering the Dead (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
On Deadly Tides (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Shakespeare in the Catskills Mystery Books

Untimely Death (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Ill Met by Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Much Ado About Murder (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Elizabeth J. Duncan Books, You’ll Love…

Her first book that introduces us to Penny Brannigan is called The Cold Light of Mourning. Set in the North Wales market town of Llanelen, we meet Penny as a manicurist who was the last person to see a soon-to-bride/bridezilla alive before her murder. She decides to investigate the case herself and finds that this bride wasn’t so popular among the wedding guests. Her hunt for the killer could end up in a shocking place.

She followed this book up with A Brush With Death as Penny ends up working her way through a cold case. Years ago her benefactor was sent a series of a love letters by an artist named A. Jones. She looks more into him and finds that he died under mysterious circumstances in 1970. Then, when attending an art show she sees a painting that she swears was A. Jones, but it is accredited to another painter. Putting the pieces together, she realizes that there may be more to his death than meets the eye and begins her another investigation.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Elizabeth J. Duncan Books

Leave a Reply