Eric Wright (1929-2015) was an English-Canadian author of mystery novels. He is the author of the Charlie Salter and Joe Barley series. Wright was born in London, England, where he grew up. He moved to Canada in 1951. Wright earned his B.A. in 1957 from the University of Manitoba and his M.A. in 1963 from the University of Toronto. He taught English at Ryerson University from 1958-1989. During his career as a novelist, he was awarded the Arthur Ellis Award, City of Toronto Book Award, the John Creasey Award and the Crime Writers of Canada Grand Master Award.

Eric Wright began his career as a novelist in 1983 with the novel The Night the Gods Smiled. His final novel was a standalone title entitled The Land Mine, published in 2015. Below is a list of Eric Wright’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Charlie Salter Books

The Night the Gods Smiled (1983)Description / Buy at
Smoke Detector (1984)Description / Buy at
Death in the Old Country (1985)Description / Buy at
A Single Death / The Man Who Changed His Name (1986)Description / Buy at
A Body Surrounded by Water (1987)Description / Buy at
A Question of Murder (1988)Description / Buy at
A Sensitive Case (1990)Description / Buy at
Final Cut (1991)Description / Buy at
A Fine Italian Hand (1992)Description / Buy at
Death by Degrees (1993)Description / Buy at
The Last Hand (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mel Pickett Books

Buried in Stone (1996)Description / Buy at
Death of a Hired Man (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lucy Trimble Brenner Books

Death of a Sunday Writer (1996)Description / Buy at
Death on the Rocks (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Joe Barley Books

The Kidnapping of Rosie Dawn (2000)Description / Buy at
The Hemingway Caper (2003)Description / Buy at
A Likely Story (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Adventures of Buford T. Johnson (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

A Killing Climate (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Always Give a Penny to a Blind Man (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Suit of Diamonds(1991)Description / Buy at
Criminal Shorts(1992)Description / Buy at

Note: A Single Death was also published as The Man Who Changed His Name.

If You Like Eric Wright Books, You’ll Love…

Eric Wright Synopsis: The Kidnapping of Rosie Dawn is the first book in the Joe Barley series by Eric Wright. Joe Barley, a part-time lecturer in English Literature and part-time security guard, is alerted by his maid to the disappearance of another of her employers, Rosie Dawn, a student of classics who is working her way through school by being an exotic dancer and the mistress of a fast-food entrepreneur. The novel also deals with campus politics – a student tries to exploit the nervous administration over its minority policies.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Eric Wright Books

Leave a Reply