Frank Gardner is an English author in addition to his role as the the BBC’s full-time Security Correspondent. He is the author of Blood and Sand and the Luke Carlton series of books. In his day job with the BBC, he reports for television and radio on issues of domestic and international security, notably on Al-Qaeda-related terrorism.

Gardner is a fluent Arabist and has his degree in Arabic and Islamic Studies. He has written for many publications as a journalist in his time including Daily Telegraph, Economist, Sunday Times, and Time Out. He is most famous for his book, Blood and Sand, that tells the story of his own shooting by Islamic gunmen.

Get notified when Frank Gardner releases a new book at

Publication Order of Luke Carlton Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Blood and Sand (2006)Description / Buy at

If You Like Frank Gardner Books, You’ll Love…

The first book in the Luke Gardner series is called Crisis. The story introduces us to Carlton, an ex-Special Boat Service commando, who is now under contract to MI6 for some of their most dangerous missions. In this story, Luke is sent into the Columbian jungle to investigate a murder of a British intelligence officer. The investigation leads Luke to a terrifying plot with international dimensions that will make him a target. He finds himself on the run from a dangerous drug cartel and their leader who has a thirst for revenge. Carlton must avoid him and race against time to prevent a disaster that has London as its target.

Blood and Sand is Gardner’s telling of the true story of when he and cameraman Simon Cumbers were ambushed by Islamist gunmen. It was June of 2004 when it happened, Simon was killed and Frank took two bullets. He then took four more bullets at point blank range and, against all odds, survived. Gardner ended up partially paralyzed by this, but continued to travel the world and report for the BBC.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Frank Gardner Books

Leave a Reply