Frank Tuttle is an author of fantasy novels. He writes the Markhat Files and the Paths of Shadows series. He began writing because he thought it would be easy – he was mistaken. His first published works were in such magazines as Weird Tales and Marion Zimmer Bradley’s Fantasy Magazine in the late 1990s. Frank writes fantasy from his home in Oxford, Mississippi, surrounded by his pack of rescue dogs.

Frank Tuttle began his career as a novelist in 2008 with The Mister Trophy. Below is a list of Frank Tuttle’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Frank Tuttle releases a new book at

Publication Order of Markhat Files Books

The Mister Trophy (2008)Description / Buy at
Dead Man's Rain (2008)Description / Buy at
Hold the Dark (2009)Description / Buy at
The Cadaver Client (2009)Description / Buy at
The Banshee's Walk (2010)Description / Buy at
The Broken Bell (2011)Description / Buy at
Brown River Queen (2013)Description / Buy at
The Five Faces (2014)Description / Buy at
The Darker Carnival (2015)Description / Buy at
Way Out West (2016)Description / Buy at
Three Mean Streets (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Paths of Shadow Books

All the Paths of Shadow (2011)Description / Buy at
Saving the Sammi (2012)Description / Buy at
All the Turns of Light (2014)Description / Buy at
Every Wind of Change (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Knob Hill Haunt (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Passing the Narrows (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Wistril Compleat (2001)Description / Buy at
Socialists, Socialites, and Sociopaths (2007)Description / Buy at
Mallara and Burn: On the Road (2009)Description / Buy at
The Far Corners (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The New Author's Guide to Writing (2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Frank Tuttle Books, You’ll Love…

Frank Tuttle Synopses: Passing the Narrows is a 25-page tale of a haunted American South, an ancient evil, and a defeated yet defiant riverboat crew. The stern-wheeler Yocona has been ordered by a Federal sorceress to make a frantic run to Vicksburg via the Yazoo River, and that means passing the Narrows on a moonless night, a passage every riverboat master knows is suicide…

In The New Author’s Guide to Writing, fantasy author Frank Tuttle reveals his tips and tricks of the trade in a how-to book designed for the new (or young!) author. Learn how to build a story from the bones up, avoid the perils of head-hopping, and take stories apart to see what makes them work. Writing is hard work, but there’s no reason it can’t also be fun.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Frank Tuttle Books

Leave a Reply