Fred Vargas
Fred Vargas is a French author of crime thriller novels. She is the author of the Commissaire Adamsberg series, which has won the International Dagger Award twice. She has also won the award for her novel The Three Evangelists. Vargas is also a Medieval historian and this interest often comes out into her novels. She is the twin sister of painter Jo Vargas.

Fred Vargas made her debut in English with the novel Have Mercy On Us All, which was translated from French to English and released in 2003. Her first novel in French was Les Jeux de l’amour et de la mort, which came out in 1986. Below isa list of Fred Vargas’ books in order of when they were orginally published:

Get notified when Fred Vargas releases a new book at

Publication Order of Commissaire Adamsberg Books

The Chalk Circle Man (1991)Description / Buy at
Seeking Whom He May Devour (1999)Description / Buy at
Have Mercy on Us All (2001)Description / Buy at
This Night's Foul Work (2006)Description / Buy at
Wash This Blood Clean from My Hand (2007)Description / Buy at
An Uncertain Place (2008)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Riders of Ordebec (2011)Description / Buy at
A Climate of Fear (2015)Description / Buy at
This Poison Will Remain (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Three Evangelists Books

The Three Evangelists (1995)Description / Buy at
Dog Will Have His Day (1996)Description / Buy at
The Accordionist (1997)Description / Buy at

If You Like Fred Vargas Books, You’ll Love…

Fred Vargas Synopsis: The Three Evangelists is a standalone novel by Fred Vargas. Sophia Simeonidis is a Greek opera singer who wakes up and finds a tree in the garden of her house in Paris. With her husband disinterested, she offers some neighbours a job to dig around to see if anything has been planted. The curious neighbours gladly investigate, but find nothing. But when Sophie turns up dead, a more serious investigation is undertaken…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Fred Vargas Books

2 Responses to “Order of Fred Vargas Books”

  1. cam: 2 years ago

    question please – in This night’s foul work” there is mention of a district nurse who Adamsberg has caught. – but I don’t recall the book of this ?
    have all her books been translated to English>


    • Graeme: 2 years ago


      Everything was translated in the Adamsberg series except the graphic novel Les quatre fleuves and a three novella collection called Coule la Seine. Not sure if the district nurse was covered in any of them.


Leave a Reply