Chief Inspector Adamsberg by Fred Vargas
Commissaire Adamsberg is a series of crime thriller novels by French author Fred Vargas. Commissaire (or Chief Inspector) Jean-Baptiste Adamsberg is a police chief who travels around a lot as part of the job, but is based out of Paris, France. Adrien Danglard is Adamsberg’s deputy who is more methodical, as opposed to Adamsberg (who uses Zen methods), and loves his white wine. Camille Forestier is a musician and plumber who has an on-off relationship with Adamsberg.

Fred Vargas began her Commissaire Adamsberg series in 1991 with the French novel L’Homme aux cercles bleus (The Chalk Circle Man). The novel was released in English in 2009 and won the International Dagger Award. The novel Wash This Blood Clean from My Hand would also win the CWA’s International Dagger Award. The series is currently ongoing. Below is a list of Fred Vargas’ Commissaire Adamsberg books in order of when they were first published (as well as in chronological order):

Get notified when Fred Vargas releases a new book at

Publication Order of Commissaire Adamsberg Books

The Chalk Circle Man(1991)Description / Buy at
Seeking Whom He May Devour(1999)Description / Buy at
Have Mercy on Us All(2001)Description / Buy at
This Night's Foul Work(2006)Description / Buy at
Wash This Blood Clean from My Hand(2007)Description / Buy at
An Uncertain Place(2008)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Riders of Ordebec(2011)Description / Buy at
A Climate of Fear(2015)Description / Buy at
This Poison Will Remain(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Commissaire Adamsberg Books, You’ll Love…

Commissaire Adamsberg Synopsis: The Chalk Circle Man is the first novel written by Fred Vargas in her Commissaire Adamsberg series. Mysterious blue chalk circles start showing up in Paris and everyone seems to have a theory. Chief Inspector Adamsberg thinks this is more serious than most and believes there’s a significance to the seemingly random items found inside them. He is proven right when the body of a woman with a cut throat is found, and more would be coming.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Characters » Order of Commissaire Adamsberg Books

5 Responses to “Order of Commissaire Adamsberg Books”

  1. Danita L Twedt: 6 years ago

    It would be preferred to list the original order of publication instead of the order of English translation which is what you have shown, i.e. “The Chalk Circle Man” was first published in 1991, “Seeking Whom He May Devour” was first published in 1999 and so on.


  2. Ben Davies: 10 years ago

    Many thanks Brandon. I rechecked and have noted the existence of the two lists for future reference. I assumed incorrectly that there was only 1 chronological order, but this makes sense. As you suggest, a single list would likely suffice if it was sorted on order to read and called out publication date for those exceptions.


    • Brandon: 10 years ago

      Not a problem. Sometimes mistakes do occur, and if you notice any, let us know and they’ll be fixed immediately.


  3. Ben Davies: 10 years ago

    There is an obvious error in the order listed above which I would have caught had I read the synopsis instead of relying on the list. The list of the order of Commissaire Adamsberg novels puts the Chalk Circle Man as number 5 in the series and by date. As soon as you start the book however you read that Adamsberg has just arrived in Paris so iit predates the rest of the series.


    • Brandon: 10 years ago

      We have the chronological order listed as well, but I will change it so that it’s done in the same manner as the publication order.


Leave a Reply