Gary Bell is an English author of legal thriller novels. He writes the Elliot Rook QC series. When Gary left school, he didn’t have any qualifications, so he worked as an apprentice mechanic, forklift truck driver, production line worker, builder, fireman and door-to-door salesman. He was also a football hooligan, and was arrested for fraud when he was 18 years old. After a short stint in prison, he travelled around Europe, leaving him broke and homeless. He studied his O and A levels at FE College, and then studied law at Bristol University. Following graduation, he worked as a litigation lawyer in Beverly Hills, California for a year and subsequently returned to England to become a barrister. He has spent over thirty years at the Bar, specializing in major fraud and murder trials. He became a QC in 2012.

Gary Bell made his debut as a novelist in 2019 with Beyond Reasonable Doubt. Below is a list of Gary Bell’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Gary Bell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Elliot Rook QC Books

Beyond Reasonable Doubt (2019)Description / Buy at
Post Mortem (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Animal QC: My Preposterous Life (2015)Description / Buy at
Bus Stop Killer: The True Story of Levi Bellfield (2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Gary Bell Books, You’ll Love…

Gary Bell Synopsis: Beyond Reasonable Doubt is the first Elliot Rook, QC novel by Gary Bell. Elliot Rook is the epitome of a highly successful, old Etonian QC. Or, that’s how it appears. In reality, he is an ex-petty criminal with a past that he has spent decades keeping hidden – until now.

An unidentified young woman of Middle Eastern origin has been found murdered on the outskirts of Rook’s home town. Billy Barber – a violent football hooligan and white-supremacist – is accused of her murder. Barber insists that Rook must defend him. If Rook refuses, Barber will expose him, bringing crashing to the ground the life and career that Rook has spent his life building. The truth is there for the finding. But at what cost?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gary Bell Books

Leave a Reply