Gill Hornby is an English author of historical and women’s fiction novels, and non-fiction books. She is also a journalist. Gill and husband Robert Harris live with their four children in Berkshire, England.

Gill Hornby made her debut as a novelist in 2013 with The Hive. Below is a list of Gill Hornby’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Gill Hornby releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Story of Jane Austen (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Who Was... Books

Jane Austen: The Girl with the Magic Pen (2005)Description / Buy at
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (2006)Description / Buy at

If You Like Gill Hornby Books, You’ll Love…

Gill Hornby Synopses: All Together Now is a standalone title by Gill Hornby. The small town of Bridgeford is in crisis. Downtown is deserted, businesses are closing, and the idea of civic pride seems old-fashioned to residents rushing through the streets to get somewhere else. Bridgeford seems to have lost its heart. But there is one thing that just might unite the community — music. The local choir, a group generally either ignored or mocked by most of Bridgeford’s inhabitants, is preparing for an important contest, and to win it they need new members, and a whole new sound. Enlisting (some may say drafting) singers, who include a mother suffering from empty-nest syndrome, a middle-aged man who has just lost his job and his family, and a nineteen-year-old waitress who dreams of reality-TV stardom, the choir regulars must find — and make — harmony with neighbors they’ve been happy not to know for years. Can they all learn to work together, save the choir, and maybe even save their town in the process?

Miss Austen is a standalone novel by Gill Hornby. It is set in 1840 England. Two decades after the death of her beloved sister, Jane, Cassandra Austen returns to the village of Kintbury and the home of her family friends, the Fowles. In a dusty corner of the vicarage, there is a cache of Jane’s letters that Cassandra is desperate to find. Dodging her hostess and a meddlesome housemaid, Cassandra eventually hunts down the letters and confronts the secrets they hold, secrets not only about Jane but about Cassandra herself. Will Cassandra bare the most private details of her life to the world, or commit her sister’s legacy to the flames?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gill Hornby Books

Leave a Reply