Gladys Mitchell (1901-1983) was an English author of mystery novels and children’s books. She also wrote historical fiction as Stephen Hockaby. She is best known for her Mrs. Bradley mystery series. Gladys attended Goldsmiths College and University College, London. She taught English, history and games at St. Paul’s School, Brentford and then at St. Anne’s Senior Girls School. Gladys began to write novels in the mid-1920s, and continued to teach at various schools until 1961. She earned the CWA Silver Dagger Award in 1976.

Gladys Mitchell made her debut as a novelist in 1929 with the novel Speedy Death. Her final novel was the 1984 novel The Crozier Pharaohs. Below is a list of Gladys Mitchell’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Mrs. Bradley Books

A Speedy Death (1929)Description / Buy at
The Mystery of a Butcher's Shop (1929)Description / Buy at
The Longer Bodies (1930)Description / Buy at
The Saltmarsh Murders (1932)Description / Buy at
Death at the Opera / Death in the Wet (1934)Description / Buy at
The Devil at Saxon Wall (1935)Description / Buy at
Dead Men's Morris / Death Comes at Christmas (1936)Description / Buy at
Come Away, Death (1937)Description / Buy at
St Peter's Finger (1938)Description / Buy at
Printer's Error (1939)Description / Buy at
Brazen Tongue (1940)Description / Buy at
Hangman's Curfew (1941)Description / Buy at
When Last I Died (1941)Description / Buy at
Laurels Are Poison (1942)Description / Buy at
The Worsted Viper (1943)Description / Buy at
Sunset Over Soho (1943)Description / Buy at
My Father Sleeps (1944)Description / Buy at
The Rising of the Moon (1945)Description / Buy at
Here Comes a Chopper (1946)Description / Buy at
Death and the Maiden (1947)Description / Buy at
The Dancing Druids (1948)Description / Buy at
Tom Brown's Body (1949)Description / Buy at
Groaning Spinney / Murder in the Snow (1950)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Elbow (1951)Description / Buy at
The Echoing Strangers (1952)Description / Buy at
Merlin's Furlong (1953)Description / Buy at
Faintley Speaking (1954)Description / Buy at
Watson's Choice (1955)Description / Buy at
Twelve Horses and the Hangman's Noose (1956)Description / Buy at
The Twenty-Third Man (1957)Description / Buy at
Spotted Hemlock (1958)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Grew Tomatoes (1959)Description / Buy at
Say It with Flowers (1960)Description / Buy at
Nodding Canaries (1961)Description / Buy at
My Bones Will Keep (1962)Description / Buy at
Adders on the Heath (1963)Description / Buy at
Death of a Delft Blue (1964)Description / Buy at
Pageant of Murder (1965)Description / Buy at
The Croaking Raven (1966)Description / Buy at
Skeleton Island (1967)Description / Buy at
Three Quick and Five Dead (1968)Description / Buy at
Dance to Your Daddy (1969)Description / Buy at
Gory Dew (1970)Description / Buy at
Lament for Leto (1971)Description / Buy at
A Hearse on May-Day (1972)Description / Buy at
The Murder of Busy Lizzie (1973)Description / Buy at
A Javelin for Jonah (1974)Description / Buy at
Winking at the Brim (1974)Description / Buy at
Convent on Styx (1975)Description / Buy at
Late, Late in the Evening (1976)Description / Buy at
Noonday and Night (1977)Description / Buy at
Fault in the Structure (1977)Description / Buy at
Wraiths and Changelings (1978)Description / Buy at
Mingled with Venom (1978)Description / Buy at
Nest of Vipers (1979)Description / Buy at
The Mudflats of the Dead (1979)Description / Buy at
Uncoffin'd Clay (1980)Description / Buy at
The Whispering Knights (1980)Description / Buy at
The Death Cap Dancers (1981)Description / Buy at
Lovers, Make Moan (1981)Description / Buy at
Here Lies Gloria Mundy (1982)Description / Buy at
Death of a Burrowing Mole (1982)Description / Buy at
The Greenstone Griffins (1983)Description / Buy at
Cold, Lone, and Still (1983)Description / Buy at
No Winding-Sheet (1984)Description / Buy at
The Crozier Pharaohs (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Pamela Stewart Books

Holiday River (1948)Description / Buy at
The Seven Stones Mystery (1949)Description / Buy at
The Malory Secret (1950)Description / Buy at
Pam at Storne Castle (1951)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Timothy Herring Books

Heavy as Lead (1966)Description / Buy at
Late and Cold (1967)Description / Buy at
Your Secret Friend (1968)Description / Buy at
Shades of Darkness (1970)Description / Buy at
Bismarck Herrings (1971)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Three Fingerprints (1940)Description / Buy at
On Your Marks (1954)Description / Buy at
Caravan Creek (1954)Description / Buy at
The Light Blue Hills (1959)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Sleuth's Alchemy (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Ask a Policeman(1933)Description / Buy at

Notes: Death at The Opera was published in the U.S. as Death in the Wet. Groaning Spinney was also titled Murder in the Snow.

The Timothy Herring series was written as Malcolm Torrie.

The standalone titles Marsh Hay, Seven Stars and Orion, Gabriel’s Hold, Outlaws of the Border, Shallow Brown, and Grand Master were written under the pen name of Stephen Hockaby.

If You Like Gladys Mitchell Books, You’ll Love…

Gladys Mitchell Synopsis: A Speedy Death is the first book in the Mrs. Bradley series by Gladys Mitchell. Guests are set to dine at Alastair Bing’s elegant country manor, but only one guest – a murderer – is aware of the dead body in an upstairs bathtub. With renowned explorer Mr. Everard Mountjoy noticeably missing from the dining table, the rest of the party searches for him, and soon discovers the explorer’s drowned corpse. The murder is mystifying, not in the least because what is in the tub is the body of a woman! As danger and theories unravel, psychoanalyst Mrs. Beatrice Lestrange Bradley observes and interprets all, from shrieks in the night to drowning attempts to poisoning. It’s clear that Mrs. Bradley has a keen eye for detail. But can she find a motive for murder?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gladys Mitchell Books

Leave a Reply