Guy Gavriel Kay is a Canadian author of fantasy novels. His fantasy is often based on actual historical eras, so much so that some of his works are marketed as “historical fantasy” (which Kay himself does not agree with). Kay helped J.R.R. Tolkien‘s son Christopher Tolkien with editing some of his father’s unpublished work, which became an education on how to write and edit.

Guy Gavriel Kay became a published fiction author in 1984 with the standalone novel The Summer Tree. Below is a list of Guy Gavriel Kay’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Guy Gavriel Kay releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Fionavar Tapestry Books

The Summer Tree (1984)Description / Buy at
The Wandering Fire (1986)Description / Buy at
The Darkest Road (1986)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Sarantine Mosaic Books

Sailing to Sarantium (1998)Description / Buy at
Lord of Emperors (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Under Heaven Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Tigana (1990)Description / Buy at
A Song for Arbonne (1992)Description / Buy at
The Lions of Al-Rassan (1995)Description / Buy at
The Last Light of the Sun (2004)Description / Buy at
Ysabel (2007)Description / Buy at
Children of Earth and Sky (2016)Description / Buy at
A Brightness Long Ago (2019)Description / Buy at
All the Seas of the World (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Beyond This Dark House: Poems (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Finding the Words(2011)Description / Buy at

If You Like Guy Gavriel Kay Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Guy Gavriel Kay Books

One Response to “Order of Guy Gavriel Kay Books”

  1. Mongoose218: 7 years ago

    Your Guy Gavriel Kay listing needs to be updated…


Leave a Reply