Jandy Nelson is a American author who burst onto the scene with her debut novel, The Sky Is Everywhere. That book was named a best book of the year by publications such as the New York Times, Time Magazine, and NPR. She followed that book up with I’ll Give You the Sun which was the recipient of the 2015 Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature, Bank Street’s Josette Frank Award, and a Stonewall Honor Book Award.

Jandy attended Cornell University where she received her BA and then on to Brown University and the Vermont College of Fine Arts where she received MFAs in Poetry and Children’s Writing. Her first book was optioned for a film and Nelson wrote the screenplay for it.

Get notified when Jandy Nelson releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sky Is Everywhere (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
I'll Give You the Sun (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
When the World Tips Over (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Our Working Lives(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Jandy Nelson Books, You’ll Love…

The Sky Is Everywhere tells the story of Lennie who is dealing with the aftermath of her sister’s death. She is sharing her grief for her sister with Toby, her sister’s boyfriend, and the two are developing a connection of their own now. While Lennie also finds herself drawn to the new boy in town, Joe, who is a musical genius. They both offer something to her that she really needs right now, but the two of them meeting could make her whole world explode. Lennie will learn that love can save her from sorrow, but it won’t be without drama.

Nelson followed that book up with I’ll Give You the Sun. The book tells the story of twins Jude and Noah. They are so close as kids that they are known as NoahandJude. Jude does all the talking for both of them while Noah draws and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door. The story picks up years later when the two are no longer close and barely talk. Jude meets an intriguing boy and a mysterious new mentor. Each twin makes up one half of the story, but they’ll need to find their ways back to each other to have a chance in this world.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jandy Nelson Books

Leave a Reply