Jimmy Sangster (1927-2011) was a British author and screenwriter. Best known for his work as a screenwriter, Sangster began working at Hammer Films as a production assistant, among other jobs. Eventually, he was given the job of screenwriter as well. He also directed three films for the studio. Sangster passed away in 2011. He was married (to actress Mary Peach), and had a son as well as two grandchildren.

Jimmy Sangster made his debut as a published author in 1959, writing as John Sansom. His debut under his real namme was The Terror of the Tongs, published in 1962. Posthumously, an unpublished novel in his James Reed series (entitled Fireball) was discovered and will be published in 2020 by Brash Books. Below is a list of Jimmy Sangster’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of John Smith Books

The Spy Killer / Private I (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Foreign Exchange (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Katy Touchfeather Books

Touchfeather (1970)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Touchfeather, Too (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of James Reed Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Horror of Dracula (1958)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Your Friendly Neighbourhood Death Pedlar (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Do You Want It Good or Tuesday? from Hammer Films to Hollywood (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Inside Hammer (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Screenwriting (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: Private I was also published as The Spy Killer.

If You Like Jimmy Sangster Books, You’ll Love…

Jimmy Sangster Synopsis: Snowball by Jimmy Sangster is the first James Reed novel. James Reed is an ex-Scotland Yard detective who became the bodyguard, then lover, then husband, then ex-husband of Hollywood superstar Katherine Long. Now he’s a self-styled beach bum, living in the Malibu beachhouse he got in the divorce settlement, and making a half-assed effort at screenwriting. But then Katherine comes back into his life – her rebellious, spoiled daughter Caroline is mired in the Hollywood celebrity drug scene. Katherine thinks James is the only one who can get his former step-daughter out before it beomes a scandal… or worse. The problem is, Caroline doesn’t want out, and his troubles snowball as James becomes an unwilling player in a $2 million scheme involving stolen drugs, high-powered studio execs, and ruthless mob killers.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jimmy Sangster Books

Leave a Reply