Joanna Toye is an author best known for writing The Shop Girls series of books. The series was inspired after the author visited a small exhibition about a former Wolverhampton department store.

Toye has had a long career in writing and previously wrote on TV soaps like Crossroads and EastEnders. She eventually decided to give writing novels a try which led to The Shop Girls series. Joanna makes her home in the Midlands with her husband. The couple have one child who has made them grandparents.

Get notified when Joanna Toye releases a new book at

Publication Order of Marlow’s Department Store Books

A Store at War (2019)Description / Buy at
Wartime for the Shop Girls (2019)Description / Buy at
Heartache for the Shop Girls (2020)Description / Buy at
Christmas for the Shop Girls (2020)Description / Buy at
The Victory Girls (2021)Description / Buy at
Wedding Bells for the Victory Girls (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Best Of Breakfasts (1997)Description / Buy at
The Archers 1951-1967: Family Ties (1998)Description / Buy at
The Archers 1968-1986: Looking for Love (1999)Description / Buy at
The Archers Miscellany (2009)Description / Buy at
The Archers: The Ambridge Chronicles (With: Karen Farrington) (2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Joanna Toye Books, You’ll Love…

A Store at War is the first book in the Shop Girls series. The story takes place in 1941 as Lily Collins is going to work at Marlow’s department store. Her boss is Miss Frobisher who shows her and Gladys, another new employee, the ropes of the business. Lily’s friendship with a salesman named Jim brings into a swirl of secrets. The war is getting serious and times are tough. The store’s owner, Cedric Marlow, and his staff will need to deal with nightly bombings as well as their missing loved ones in order to get by. They do so with a strong sense of community and everyone doing their part.

Wartime for the Shop Girls is the second book in the series. The book takes place in 1942 as the shortages because of the war are beginning to show. The bombs are still falling, but Lily is making the move to sales junior at the department store. The ladies of the shop have to be tough as they watch so many men they know go away to war. Lily’s brother comes home on leave and many secrets will come to light. She’ll find a way to keep smiling through as the whole community is tested.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Joanna Toye Books

Leave a Reply