John Banville is an Irish novelist, playwright and screenwriter. Banville often writes under the pen name of Benjamin Black. He is known for dark humour and a precise, forensic-like style that is dense and thick like poetry. He has recently taken the reigns of Raymond Chandler‘s Philip Marlowe character (as Benjamin Black).

John Banville made his debut as a published author in 1970 with the collection entitled Long Lankin. His first novel was Nightspawn, which was published in 1971. Below is a list of John Banville’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when John Banville releases a new book at

Publication Order of Philip Marlowe Books

The Big Sleep (By: Raymond Chandler) (1939)Description / Buy at
Farewell, My Lovely (By: Raymond Chandler) (1940)Description / Buy at
The High Window (By: Raymond Chandler) (1942)Description / Buy at
The Lady in the Lake (By: Raymond Chandler) (1943)Description / Buy at
The Little Sister (By: Raymond Chandler) (1949)Description / Buy at
The Long Goodbye (By: Raymond Chandler) (1953)Description / Buy at
Playback (By: Raymond Chandler) (1958)Description / Buy at
Poodle Springs (By: Robert B. Parker,Raymond Chandler) (1989)Description / Buy at
Perchance to Dream (By: Robert B. Parker) (1991)Description / Buy at
The Black-Eyed Blonde (As: Benjamin Black) (2014)Description / Buy at
Only to Sleep (By: Lawrence Osborne) (2018)Description / Buy at
The Goodbye Coast (By: Joe Ide) (2022)Description / Buy at
The Second Murderer (By: Denise Mina) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Quirke Books

(as Benjamin Black)

Publication Order of The Revolutions Trilogy Books

Publication Order of The Cleave Trilogy Books

Publication Order of Frames: The Freddie Montgomery Trilogy Books

Publication Order of St. John Strafford Books

The Secret Guests (As: Benjamin Black) (2020)Description / Buy at
Snow (2020)Description / Buy at
April in Spain (2021)Description / Buy at
The Lock-Up (2023)Description / Buy at
The Drowned (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Tax Free Books

Tax Free (2008)Description / Buy at
More Confessions from a Serial Tax Cheat (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Nightspawn (1971)Description / Buy at
Birchwood (1973)Description / Buy at
Mefisto (1986)Description / Buy at
The Untouchable (1997)Description / Buy at
The Sea (2005)Description / Buy at
The Lemur (As:Benjamin Black) (2008)Description / Buy at
The Infinities (2009)Description / Buy at
The Blue Guitar (2015)Description / Buy at
Wolf on a String / Prague Nights (As:Benjamin Black) (2017)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Osmond (2017)Description / Buy at
The Singularities (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Long Lankin (1970)Description / Buy at
The Supreme Fictions of John Banville (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Plays

The Broken Jug (1994)Description / Buy at
Conversation in the Mountains (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Possessed of a Past: A John Banville Reader (2012)Description / Buy at
Time Pieces (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Writer and the City Books

The Flaneur (By: Edmund White) (2001)Description / Buy at
Florence, a Delicate Case (By: David Leavitt) (2002)Description / Buy at
Prague Pictures (2003)Description / Buy at
Ghost Town: Tales of Manhattan Then and Now (By: Patrick McGrath) (2005)Description / Buy at
Oxford Revisited: A City Revisited (By: Justin Cartwright) (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Believer Book of Writers Talking to Writers(2005)Description / Buy at
The Paris Review Issue 188(2009)Description / Buy at
Imagined Lives(2010)Description / Buy at
The Picador Book of 40(2012)Description / Buy at
Best European Fiction 2013(2012)Description / Buy at
Review of Contemporary Fiction: Roberto Calasso Issue(2019)Description / Buy at

Notes: This list excludes The Ark, of which only 200 copies were published in 1996. The Quirke, Phillip Marlowe and Tax Free books were published under the pen name of Benjamin Black. The Philip Marlowe series is based on the work of Raymond Chandler.

Imagined Lives: Portraits of Unknown People also includes contributions from Tracy Chevalier, Julian Fellowes, Alexander McCall Smith, Terry Pratchett, Sarah Singleton, Joanna Trollope and Minette Walters. The anthology Best European Fiction 2013 was edited with Aleksandar Hemon.

If You Like John Banville Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Banville Books / Benjamin Black

Leave a Reply