John T. Lescroart is an American novelist who writes legal and crime thrillers centered around Dismas Hardy and his associates around him. The characters in his series books (Abe Glitsky, Wyatt Hunt and Gina Roake) commonly cross over to his others series, creating an entire connected universe of legal thrillers.

Lescroart has been writing since his 1981 debut Sunburn (a standalone novel), although most of his novels since that time have been series novels. Below is the order in which Lescroart’s published works have been released:

Get notified when John Lescroart releases a new book at

Publication Order of Auguste Lupa Mystery Books

Son of Holmes (1986)Description / Buy at
Rasputin's Revenge (1987)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dismas Hardy Books

Publication Order of Abe Glitsky Books

Publication Order of Wyatt Hunt Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Sunburn (1981)Description / Buy at
The Suspect (2007)Description / Buy at
Silent Hunt: Wyatt Hunt vs. Joe Trona (With: T. Jefferson Parker) (2014)Description / Buy at
Fatal (2017)Description / Buy at
The Portal / Closure (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mysterious Profiles Books

Elvis Cole and Joe Pike (By: Robert Crais) (2022)Description / Buy at
Jack Taylor (By: Ken Bruen) (2022)Description / Buy at
Jack Reacher (By: Lee Child) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlie Parker (By: John Connolly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Hieronymus Bosch (By: Michael Connelly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Lincoln Rhyme (By: Jeffery Deaver) (2022)Description / Buy at
Alex Delaware (By: Jonathan Kellerman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Tess Monaghan (By: Laura Lippman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlie Resnick (By: John Harvey) (2022)Description / Buy at
Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus (By: Faye Kellerman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Inspector Morse (By: Colin Dexter) (2022)Description / Buy at
Dismas Hardy (2022)Description / Buy at
Bob Lee Swagger (By: Stephen Hunter) (2022)Description / Buy at
Aloysius X. L. Pendergast (By: Douglas Preston) (2022)Description / Buy at
Lou Boldt (By: Ridley Pearson) (2022)Description / Buy at
Spenser (By: Robert B. Parker) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlotte and Thomas Pitt (By: Anne Perry) (2022)Description / Buy at
John Rebus (By: Ian Rankin) (2022)Description / Buy at
Mallory (By: Carol O'Connell) (2022)Description / Buy at
Jane Whitefield (By: Thomas Perry) (2022)Description / Buy at
Ian Rutledge: A Mysterious Profile (By: Charles Todd) (2022)Description / Buy at
Amos Walker (By: Loren D. Estleman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Precious Ramotswe (By: Alexander McCall Smith) (2022)Description / Buy at
Maisie Dobbs (By: Jacqueline Winspear) (2022)Description / Buy at
The Lincoln Lawyer (By: Michael Connelly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Ben Kincaid (By: William Bernhardt) (2023)Description / Buy at
Repairman Jack (By: F. Paul Wilson) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Natural Suspect(2001)Description / Buy at
A Merry Band of Murderers(2006)Description / Buy at
No Rest for the Dead(2011)Description / Buy at
First Thrills: Volume 4(2011)Description / Buy at
FaceOff(2014)Description / Buy at
Mystery Writers of America Presents Ice Cold(2014)Description / Buy at
The Misadventures of Nero Wolfe(2020)Description / Buy at
Nothing Good Happens After Midnight(2020)Description / Buy at

Note: The events of the Abe Glitsky novel A Certain Justice take place between Part 4 and Part 5 of Guilt.

If You Like John Lescroart Books, You’ll Love…

John Lescroart Synopses: Sunburn is a standalone novel by John Lescroart. Passion and intrigue abound on Spain’s Costa Brava, particularly in the hearts of those who live there. Two couples are entwined as the dictator Franco teeters on the brink of overthrow. One is a married couple who have settled into a life of boredom, while the other is a passionate, combative couple who take pleasure in every moment of it. A young American man looking for his missing lover joins this potent mix, posing a threat to the ongoing schemes. As Spain gets ready for a revolution, loyalty will be tested soon and people will die. And none of them will ever be the same.

The Suspect by John Lescroart is a standalone title. Stuart Gorman tells the police everything, confident that when his wife is found dead, they will find out that he is innocent. As a result, he becomes not only the top suspect but also the top gunman. He reluctantly hires Gina Roake as his attorney. Gina, who has returned to the game following a personal loss of her own, is well aware that innocence does not guarantee justice…

In Fatal by John Lescroart, Beth Tully is alarmed when Kate Jameson tells her oldest friend that she is obsessing over a married man she just met. Beth has witnessed numerous instances of the destructive effects of infidelity as a police detective in San Francisco. However, despite her contented marriage and two wonderful children, Kate is unable to shake Peter Ash from her thoughts and has one intense sexual encounter. Kate never gives Peter any thought because she is so sure that her life can now return to normal.

When Peter Ash’s body washes up on a beach six months later, Beth is given the case. Beth is forced to realize that the prime suspect might have been right in front of her the whole time as the list of suspects gets smaller and the mystery of who Peter Ash became in the last months of his life gets more complicated.

The Missing Piece is the 19th book in the Dismas Hardy series by John Lescroart. When Paul Riley was sentenced to prison by San Francisco District Attorney Wes Farrell eleven years ago for the rape and murder of his girlfriend, no one wept. After The Exoneration Initiative discovered evidence that put the blame for the crime on someone else, no one is particularly pleased to see him again when he is released. In point of fact, Riley quickly turns up dead, surrounded by the proceeds of his most recent con. But if Riley really wasn’t guilty at all, who wanted to kill him?

It’s clear to the authorities: The former prisoner was killed by the grieving father of Riley’s deceased girlfriend. Farrell, who is now out of politics and working as a lawyer with master lawyer Dismas Hardy, agrees to represent the defendant, Doug Rush. However, when Rush suddenly vanishes, Farrell is left behind. Farrell and Hardy ask PI Abe Glitsky to locate the potentially dangerous defendant because they are stumped. Glitsky is taken on an investigation through a “hall of mirrors” filled with bereaved parents, dishonest police officers, cheating spouses, and vigilantes. The truth seems to get further and further away from Glitsky as he first accepts and then rejects various intriguing theories.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Lescroart Books

3 Responses to “Order of John Lescroart Books”

  1. Marilyn Doud: 2 years ago

    I’ve read all the Dismas Hardy, Abe Glitsky and Hunt Club books – I love the way John LesCroart presents the story line and develops the characters – even if we all know the main characters, there are others that impact the story, and he does an excellent job of making these people seem real. I can’t wait for his next book!


  2. Katie Knudtson Kochenower: 9 years ago

    I am hooked on John Lescroart books! But I am having a hard time finding The Mercy Rule on kindle format. It’s not on Amazon in that format even though the link above alludes that it is. Any ideas? Thanks!


  3. elehcim4: 9 years ago

    I just discovered John Lescroart. And am pleasantly surprised. Nice to find a “New” author who has good character development, writes about one of my most beloved cities and writes well.
    I’m a voracious reader and seem to “run out of good authors”, so I am always on the prowl for good reads.


Leave a Reply