Jon Katz
Jon Katz is an American author of mystery novels, children’s books and non-fiction books. Early on in his career, he wrote mystery novels (the Suburban Detective series) and non-fiction books on geek subculture (Virtuous Reality, Media Rants), but later on he transitioned to writing about the relationships humans share with animals. Jon is also a journalist and photographer, and has worked for the online magazines HotWired and Slate as well as the tech website Slashdot. Jon lives on Bedlam Farm with his wife, artist Maria Wulf, and many animals.

Jon Katz became a published novelist in 1991 with the standalone novel Sign Off. His first non-fiction book was Virtuous Reality in 1997. Below is a list of Jon Katz’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Jon Katz releases a new book at

Publication Order of Suburban Detective Books

Death by Station Wagon (1993)Description / Buy at
The Family Stalker (1994)Description / Buy at
The Last Housewife (1995)Description / Buy at
The Father's Club (1996)Description / Buy at
Death Row (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Virtuous Reality (1997)Description / Buy at
Media Rants (1997)Description / Buy at
Running to the Mountain (1999)Description / Buy at
Geeks (2000)Description / Buy at
A Dog Year (2002)Description / Buy at
The New Work of Dogs (2003)Description / Buy at
The Dogs of Bedlam Farm (2004)Description / Buy at
Katz on Dogs (2005)Description / Buy at
A Good Dog (2006)Description / Buy at
Dog Days / Saving Izzy (2007)Description / Buy at
The Dog Who Loved (2008)Description / Buy at
Soul of a Dog (2008)Description / Buy at
Izzy & Lenore (2008)Description / Buy at
A Home for Rose (2009)Description / Buy at
The Totally True Story of Devon, the Naughtiest Dog in the World. (2010)Description / Buy at
Rose & Izzy (2010)Description / Buy at
Going Home (2011)Description / Buy at
Meet the Dogs of Bedlam Farm (2011)Description / Buy at
The Story of Rose (2012)Description / Buy at
Lenore, The Hungriest Dog in the World (2012)Description / Buy at
Lenore Finds a Friend (2012)Description / Buy at
The Second-Chance Dog (2013)Description / Buy at
Listening to Dogs (2013)Description / Buy at
The Dog Nobody Loved (2013)Description / Buy at
Saving Simon (2014)Description / Buy at
Who Speaks for the Carriage Horses (2014)Description / Buy at
Talking to Animals (2017)Description / Buy at
Gus's Year (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Dog is My Co-Pilot(2003)Description / Buy at

Note: Dog Days (USA) was also titled Saving Izzy (UK).

If You Like Jon Katz Books, You’ll Love…

Jon Katz Synopses: Sign Off is a standalone title by debuting author Jon Katz. One of the many oppressed employees at United States Broadcasting, Peter Herbert struggles to maintain the delicate balance between employment and personal integrity in the face of an ugly corporate takeover.

In Dog Days by Jon Katz, when Jon Katz hears about Izzy, a three-year-old Border collie kept alone in a field on an abandoned farm, his heart speaks louder than his head and he agrees to take him in. Once again Jon finds himself challenged by a difficult dog. Having found his human, Izzy wants to go with Jon wherever he may be, and jumps fences and chews through locks to do so. Jon has been through this before with his dog Orson, and isn’t sure he can cope with the responsibility and potential heartache again. But Jon’s motley collection of animals – from Jesus the baby donkey to Elvis the surprisingly sociable steer, as well of course as farm manager and Border collie Rose – form an ideal refuge for Izzy. And as Jon and Izzy decide they are perfect companions, Jon realises just how much life on the farm has taught him about patience, perseverance and love.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jon Katz Books

Leave a Reply