Karen Charlton is an English author from the North Yorkshire coast. Her first novel, Catching the Eagle, was based on the true story of her husband’s notorious criminal ancestor: Jamie Charlton. Upon discovering the convict in a look through the family tree, Karen knew she had found the perfect character and story for her first foray into historical novel writing.

Charlton herself was an English graduate and has worked as a school teacher as well as the coordinator of a literacy consultancy group that is run by a group of successful authors. Charlton has a late husband and two grown-up children.

Get notified when Karen Charlton releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Regency Reivers Books

Catching the Eagle (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
February 1809 (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Detective Lavender Mysteries Books

The Missing Heiress / The Heiress of Linn Hagh (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mystery of the Skelton Diamonds (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Piccadilly Pickpocket (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sans Pareil Mystery (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sculthorpe Murder (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Plague Pits & River Bones (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder in Park Lane (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Death of Irish Nell (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Willow Marsh Murder (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death at the Frost Fair (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Resurrection Mystery (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of York Ladies' Detective Agency Mysteries Books

The Mystery of Mad Alice Lane (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Smoke & Cracked Mirrors (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dancing With Dusty Fossils (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Seeking Our Eagle (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Karen Charlton Books, You’ll Love…

The aforementioned Catching the Eagle is a historical novel that follows the story of £1,157 in stolen rent money in 1809 Northumberland. The top suspects are the farm labourer Jamie Charlton, and the unpopular steward, Michael Aynsley. Jamie will need his brother William’s help to clear his name, but his brother has his own issues. Detective Stephen Lavender is on the case and his reputation as an investigator is impeccable. This book tells the story well and really takes you into the hardships of the poor at this time in history.

That book was such a success that Detective Lavender was spun off into his own series with the first book being The Heiress of Linn Hagh. A beautiful young heiress disappears from her locked bed chamber and people are claiming witchcraft. Lavender is brought in to investigate and he is stonewalled. The servants and family aren’t talking while there is a group of farmers ready to take the law into their own hands. This is a very trick case that will take Lavender deep into the world of family secrets and deception, a family feud that is just bubbling over.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Karen Charlton Books

Leave a Reply