Kathleen Kent is an American author who made her debut in 2008 with the release of her first novel, The Heretic’s Daughter. She is the author of the Detective Betty Rhyzyk series and she was nominated for an Edgar Award for the first book in the series, The Dime. Kathleen drew from experience for the character as she had family in law enforcement and always admired female police officers.

Kent grew up in Texas, but moved to New York to live and work. She stayed there for twenty years before eventually returning home. Upon her arrival back in Texas, she made the decision to try her hand at writing full time.

Get notified when Kathleen Kent releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Carrier Books

The Heretic's Daughter (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Detective Betty Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Wolves of Andover / The Traitor's Wife (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Outcasts (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Black Wolf (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Kathleen Kent Books, You’ll Love…

The Dime is the first book in the Detective betty Rhyzyk series. The story takes place in Dallas, Texas where Betty has relocated from New York. She comes from a family of Brooklyn police detectives and now finds her way in the Big D where she will have to deal with cult leaders, Mexican drug cartels, and more. Betty is as tough as they come, but her first investigation goes sideways and she is left shaken. With so much going on she may be reaching her limit, but the crime doesn’t stop.

Kent is also the author of The Heretic’s Daughter. The book takes place in 1752 Salem where Sarah is writing a letter to her granddaughter about how she survived the Salem Witch Trials when her mother did not. Sarah’s story begins over a year before the trials when her and her family first arrive in Salem. They witness as the town turns into chaos with friends and neighbors being pitted against one another. In order to protect her daughter, Sarah’s mother asks her to do something that will condemn her, but save Sarah.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Kathleen Kent Books

Leave a Reply