Kim Michele Richardson is an American author best known for writing The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek series of books. She is also the author of a memoir, The Unbreakable Child.

The Best Woman of Troublesome Creek won many awards, including 2020 PBS Readers Choice, 2019 LibraryReads Best Book, and Forbes Best Historical Novel. Kim is a native of Kentucky and sets all of her books in her home state. She still resides in Kentucky with her husband and their pets.

Get notified when Kim Michele Richardson releases a new book at

Publication Order of The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek Books

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek (2019)Description / Buy at
The Book Woman's Daughter (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Unbreakable Child (2009)Description / Buy at
Liar's Bench (2015)Description / Buy at
GodPretty in the Tobacco Field (2016)Description / Buy at
The Sisters of Glass Ferry (2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Books, You’ll Love…

The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is a novel that follows Cussy Mary as she looks to bring books to her Appalachian community. Things are tough in Troublesome Creek and the people there need to scrap for everything they have. The only thing they don’t struggle for is books and that is thanks to two things: Roosevelt’s Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project and Cussy Mary Carter. Cussy is the last of her kind, a Kentuckian with skin that is blue, and not everyone is happy to see her, but she is dedicated to bringing the joy of books to all the people of Kentucky. The book is inspired by the Kentucky Pack Horse library service of the 1930s.

The Sisters of Glass takes place in Glass Ferry, Kentucky which is bourbon country. Whiskey is a way of life here and Honey Bee Butler was known for making some of the best in the state. He passed his recipes down to Flannery and swore her to secrecy. That’s not the only loss she suffered though, her twin sister went missing on prom night without a trace. It’ll be two decades before a clue arises as to what happened that night and now Flannery is determined to find out the truth.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Kim Michele Richardson Books

One Response to “Order of Kim Michele Richardson Books”

  1. Sharon Mangiardi: 8 months ago

    Ms Richardson ,

    I readed your book “The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek” three years ago. I am now listening via Libby your book “The Book Woman”s Daughter”.

    I truely enjoy these books. I hope to in the near future read your other books.

    Thanks for writing these great enjoying books..

    Sharon Mangiardi


Leave a Reply