Laurent Binet is a French author of historical fiction novels. He is also a university lecturer. Laurent was born in Paris, France, and is the son of a historian. He graduated from the University of Paris with a degree in Literature.

Laurent Binet made his debut in the French language in 2004 with the novel La vie professionnelle de Laurent B. He made his debut in English in 2012 with the novel HHhH. The novel received the 2010 Prix Goncourt du Premier Roman award. Below is a list of Laurent Binet’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Laurent Binet releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

HHhH (2010)Description / Buy at
The Seventh Function of Language (2015)Description / Buy at
Civilizations (2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Laurent Binet Books, You’ll Love…

Laurent Binet Synopsis: In The Seventh Function of Language by Laurent Binet, the author spins a madcap secret history of the French intelligentsia, starring such luminaries as Jacques Derrida, Umberto Eco, Gilles Deleuze, Michel Foucault, Judith Butler, and Julia Kristeva – as well as the hapless police detective Jacques Bayard, whose new case will plunge him into the depths of literary theory (starting with the French version of Roland Barthes for Dummies). Soon Bayard finds himself in search of a lost manuscript by the linguist Roman Jakobson on the mysterious “seventh function of language.”

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Laurent Binet Books

Leave a Reply