Malcolm Hollingdrake is the author and creator of the Harrogate Crime Series of books. Hollingdrake was born in Bradford and spent time in Ripon as well, and he never lost his love for his home county which is reflected in the books that he writes.

Malcolm worked in education for many years, and even taught in Cairo for awhile, before deciding to give his shot at writing. He published numerous successful short stories before moving into writing full-length novels. In addition to writing, Hollingdrake enjoys buying, selling, and collecting art by Northern Artists.

Get notified when Malcolm Hollingdrake releases a new book at

Publication Order of DCI Cyril Bennett / Harrogate Crime Books

Publication Order of Merseyside Crime Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Bridging The Gulf (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Shadows from the Past (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Stars Will Shine: Helping Our Heroes One Page at A Time Books

When Stars Will Shine: Helping Our Heroes, One Page At A Time (With: Graham Smith,Paul Moore,Owen Mullen,Louise Jensen,Jane Risdon,Stewart Giles,Carmen Radtke,Robert Scragg,John Carson,Alex Kane,EmmaMitchell,Rob Ashman,Gordon Bickerstaff,Mark Brownless,Lucy Cameron,Paul T Campbell,Kris Egleton,H.R. Kemp,Billy McLaughlin,Anna Osborne,Val Portelli,Lexi Rees,K.A. Richardson,MeganSteer) (2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Malcolm Hollingdrake Books, You’ll Love…

Only the Dead is the first book in the Harrogate Crime Series. The book introduces us to DCI Cyril Bennett, a man who respects manners and being efficent, while also enjoying the fairer sex. His partner, David Owen, and him make for quite an odd couple as he is naive and untidy. The two are called to a Teacher Training College where two infant bodies are found. The two find numerous suspects and wonder if there is a link between the bodies and the recent sulphur mustard attacks. Bennett and Owen will have to use their keen senses of deduction to bring justice to the killer.

Owen and Bennett return in Hell’s Gate. A series of strange events puts Bennett and Owen on an interesting case. It starts with a dog attack on a child that turns up bags of body parts alongside a quiet road on the outskirts of town. The bags lead to a team of Eastern Europeans, acting under a Chinese Mafioso, who are running people trafficking, dog fighting, prostitution and murder. The bodies are piling up and the cases are mounting for these two, and they need to work together to catch the twisted killer before they strike again.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Malcolm Hollingdrake Books

Leave a Reply