Malcolm Mackay is a Scottish author of crime fiction novels. He was born and raised in Stornoway, and resides there to this day. Thus far in his career, he has set all of his novels in Glasgow, where he explores the underworld of the Scottish city.

Malcolm Mackay made his debut as a published author in 2013 with the novel The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter. The novel won the the Crime Thriller Book Club Best Read Award and was shortlisted for multiple others. Below is a list of Malcolm Mackay’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Malcolm Mackay releases a new book at

Publication Order of Glasgow Underworld Books

The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter (2013)Description / Buy at
How a Gunman Says Goodbye (2013)Description / Buy at
The Sudden Arrival of Violence (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Saviors Books

In the Cage Where Your Saviours Hide (2018)Description / Buy at
A Line of Forgotten Blood (2019)Description / Buy at
Saviors (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Night the Rich Men Burned (2015)Description / Buy at
Every Night I Dream of Hell (2015)Description / Buy at
For Those Who Know the Ending (2018)Description / Buy at

If You Like Malcolm Mackay Books, You’ll Love…

Malcolm Mackay Synopsis: The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter is the first Glasgow Underworld (or Glasgow Trilogy) novel by author Malcolm Mackay. A 29-year-old man lives alone in Glasgow. The telephone rings; a casual conversation, but behind this a job offer. The clues are there if you know to look for them. This man is an expert, a loner, and works freelance. Another job is another job, but what if this organisation wants more? At a meeting, he is given an offer, a brief and a target – Lewis Winter. It’s hard to kill a man well. People who do it well know this. People who do it badly find out the hard way. This has consequences.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Malcolm Mackay Books

Leave a Reply