Mario Puzo (1920-1999) was an American author/screenwriter of crime fiction. Mario was best known for Mafia-themed novels, most notably The Godfather. His family were Italian immigrants living in Hell’s Kitchen, which is where he draws much of his material from. Mario’s goal when he wrote The Godfather was to write a novel to make him money, as he had already gotten favourable reviews for his work, but the books weren’t commercially successful. He then adapted the novel to the classic film alongside Francis Ford Coppola. Puzo died of heart failure at home in 1999.

Mario Puzo became a published author in 1955 with his debut novel The Dark Arena. Below is a list of Mario Puzo’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Godfather Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Dark Arena (1955)Description / Buy at
The Fortunate Pilgrim (1965)Description / Buy at
The Runaway Summer of Davie Shaw (1966)Description / Buy at
Six Graves to Munich (1967)Description / Buy at
Fools Die (1978)Description / Buy at
The Fourth K (1990)Description / Buy at
The Last Don (1996)Description / Buy at
The Family (With: Carol Gino) (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Godfather Papers and Other Confessions (1972)Description / Buy at
Inside Las Vegas (1977)Description / Buy at
The Making of the Godfather (2013)Description / Buy at
Me and Mario (With: Carol Gino) (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Writing New York(1998)Description / Buy at
Weasels Ripped My Flesh!: Two-Fisted Stories From Men's Adventure Magazines of the 1950s, '60s & '70s(2013)Description / Buy at

Note: Six Graves to Munich was written under the pseudonym of Mario Cleri.

If You Like Mario Puzo Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mario Puzo Books

Leave a Reply