Mark Pryor is a crime fiction author who is best known for his Hugo Marston series of books. Pryor was born in Herfordshire, England and spent much of his early life in the UK before moving to America in 1994. He currently lives in Austin, Texas with his wife and young children.

Mark Pryor worked many careers in his early life as a ski instructor, personal trainer and other jobs. He would become a newspaper reporter in Essex and covered the crime beat for nearly two years. He would later move to North Carolina to attend journalism school at the University of North Carolina before moving on to law school at Duke. He used that latter degree to become an Assistant District Attorney which he does when he’s not writing books.

Get notified when Mark Pryor releases a new book at

Publication Order of Hugo Marston Books

The Bookseller (2012)Description / Buy at
The Crypt Thief (2013)Description / Buy at
The Blood Promise (2014)Description / Buy at
The Button Man (2014)Description / Buy at
The Reluctant Matador (2015)Description / Buy at
The Paris Librarian (2016)Description / Buy at
The Sorbonne Affair (2017)Description / Buy at
The Book Artist (2019)Description / Buy at
The French Widow (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hollow Man Books

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

As She Lay Sleeping (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Inspector Henri Lefort Books

Die Around Sundown (2022)Description / Buy at
The Dark Edge of Night (2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mark Pryor Books, You’ll Love…

The Bookseller is the first book in the Hugo Marston series. Hugo is working as the head of security at the US Embassy in Paris when a friend of his, an elderly bookstall owner named Max, is abducted at gunpoint. His position leaves him powerless to do anything about it, but he begins to investigate anyways with the help of a semiretired CIA agent named Tom Green. Their investigation leads to Max’s dark past and a group of rival drug dangs in a turf war.

Pryor also wrote Hollow Man as a standalone novel. The book follows Dominic, an English musician living in Texas (sound familiar?), who is a psychopath trying to hid his condition and live a normal life. Things start to break down when he’s demoted at work, accused of stealing another musician’s work, and meets a beautiful woman who convinces him to steal a van. The plan is wrought with trouble and Max will have to decide who he can trust and whether or not to let his true nature come out.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mark Pryor Books

One Response to “Order of Mark Pryor Books”

  1. Susan Gardner: 1 year ago

    Mr. Pryor,
    Just finished “the Blood Promise” and am looking forward to your next book in line “The Button Man”….already ordered it from my local San Antonio library! I read you live in Austin (maybe no longer) but a coincidence just the same.
    Love your character, Hugo, and his good friend Tom. Was so sad to read of Raul Garcia’s murder! Actually brought a tear to my eyes. Hate to see super characters leave the scene. Will look forward to the interaction with Claudia, Tom and Hugo, not to mention Insp Lerens. Really super characters and your dialogue is great, makes me smile many times over.

    Susan G


Leave a Reply