Mary Alice Monroe
Mary Alice Monroe is an American author of Southern fiction and environmental fiction. Although she was already successful as an author, it wasn’t until Mary moved to the coast of South Carolina when she fell in love with the area and began writing about the environment and conservation issues. She is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author and has won the Readers’ Choice, RT Lifetime Achievement and 2008 South Carolina Center for the Book Award for Writing awards.

Mary Alice Monroe became a published novelist in 1995 with the standalone novel The Long Road Home. Below is a list of Mary Alice Monroe’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Mary Alice Monroe releases a new book at

Publication Order of Beach House Books

The Beach House (2002)Description / Buy at
Swimming Lessons (2007)Description / Buy at
Beach House Memories (2012)Description / Buy at
Beach House for Rent (2017)Description / Buy at
Beach House Reunion (2018)Description / Buy at
On Ocean Boulevard (2020)Description / Buy at
The Summer of Lost and Found (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Islanders Books

The Islanders (2021)Description / Buy at
Search for Treasure (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lowcountry Summer Books

The Summer Girls (2013)Description / Buy at
The Summer Wind (2014)Description / Buy at
The Summer's End (2015)Description / Buy at
A Lowcountry Wedding (2016)Description / Buy at
A Lowcountry Christmas (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Long Road Home (1995)Description / Buy at
Girl in the Mirror (1998)Description / Buy at
The Book Club (1999)Description / Buy at
One Summer's Night (As: Mary Alice Kruesi) (2000)Description / Buy at
The Four Seasons (2001)Description / Buy at
Skyward (2003)Description / Buy at
Sweetgrass (2005)Description / Buy at
The Secrets We Keep (2005)Description / Buy at
Time is a River (2008)Description / Buy at
Last Light Over Carolina (2009)Description / Buy at
The Butterfly's Daughter (2011)Description / Buy at
Second Star to the Right (As: Mary Alice Kruesi) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Summer Guests (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

A Butterfly Called Hope (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Turtle Summer: A Journal for My Daughter (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Young Palmetto Books Books

Writing South Carolina, Volume 3: Selections from the Third High School Writing Contest (With: Aida Rogers,Steven Lynn) (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Reunion Beach: Stories Inspired by Dorothea Benton Frank(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mary Alice Monroe Books, You’ll Love…

Mary Alice Monroe Synopsis: In The Long Road Home, Nora MacKenzie is alone after her husband committed suicide. After some questionable dealings on Wall Street, he had left his wife – a Manhattan socalite – broke. However, she still has a farm near the mountains in Vermont. There, she plans on regaining some dignity and starting a new life as a serious farmer.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mary Alice Monroe Books

Leave a Reply