Mary Ellis
Mary Ellis is an American author of Christian-themed romantic suspense novels. She grew up in eastern Ohio, in close proximity to the Amish, where she would visit farmer’s markets and woodworking fairs. From that, she loved their peaceful lifestyle, respect for the land and Christian values. Mary lives near the largest Amish population in the United States, in central Ohio. She and her husband often spend their weekends there to buy produce, research books and enjoy the simpler ways. Prior to becoming a novelist, Mary was a middle school teacher and worked in sales for Hershey Chocolate. She enjoys reading, travelling, gardening, bicycling and swimming.

Mary Ellis made her debut as a published author in 2009 with the novel A Widow’s Hope. Below is a list of Mary Ellis’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Mary Ellis releases a new book at

Publication Order of Bourbon Tour Mystery Books

One for the Road (By: Mary Ellis) (2021)Description / Buy at
100 Proof Murder (By: Mary Ellis) (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Civil War Heroines Books

The Quaker and the Rebel (2014)Description / Buy at
Romance on the River (2014)Description / Buy at
The Lady and the Officer (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Kate Weller/Marked For Retribution Books

Hiding in Plain Sight (2018)Description / Buy at
Sweet Taste of Revenge (2019)Description / Buy at
Island of Last Resorts (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Miller Family Books

A Widow's Hope (2009)Description / Buy at
Never Far from Home (2009)Description / Buy at
The Way to a Man's Heart (2010)Description / Buy at
An Amish Family Reunion (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of New Beginnings Books

Living in Harmony (2012)Description / Buy at
Love Comes to Paradise (2013)Description / Buy at
A Little Bit of Charm (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Secrets Of The South Mysteries Books

Midnight on the Mississippi (2015)Description / Buy at
What Happened on Beale Street (2016)Description / Buy at
Magnolia Moonlight (2016)Description / Buy at
Sunset in Old Savannah (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Wayne County Books

Abigail's New Hope (2011)Description / Buy at
A Marriage for Meghan (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Plain Man (2014)Description / Buy at
The Last Heiress (2015)Description / Buy at
What Goes 'Round... (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Sarah's Christmas Miracle (2010)Description / Buy at
Always in My Heart (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Seventh Annual Collection(1994)Description / Buy at
The Amish Sweet Shop(2018)Description / Buy at

Note: A Heart Divided was also published as The Quaker and the Rebel.

If You Like Mary Ellis Books, You’ll Love…

Mary Ellis Synopsis: A Plain Man is a standalone novel by Mary Ellis. Though Caleb Beachy lived alongside the Englisch for years, he is a Plain man at heart. When he decides to return to the Amish lifestyle, he moves back home and goes to work for his father. Soon these two strong-willed men find themselves at odds. Caleb discovers there’s more to embracing his faith and reconnecting with the community than merely driving a horse and buggy and giving up Levis. Josie Yoder was just a girl when he left. All grown up now, she gives Caleb hope for the future. She soothes his frayed temper and is determined to remind him that while his faith may have wavered, God never left his side. Caleb is tempted to return Josie’s feelings, but the choices he made while away are a heavy burden on his conscience. Will past mistakes end up destroying their new romance? Or will she be able to break through the wall around his heart?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mary Ellis Books

Leave a Reply