Mary Monroe (Photo Credit: Sigrid Estrada)
Mary Monroe is an American author of African-American fiction novels. She is the author of the God Don’t Like Ugly series and the Mama Ruby series. Mary grew up the daughter of sharecroppers in Alabama and was the only member of her family to graduate from high school. Instead of attending college or taking formal writing classes, she taught herself the writing craft by writing short stories ever since she was four years old. She considers her favourite authors to be Ernest Gaines, Stephen King, Alice Walker and James Patterson. Mary lives in Oakland, California.

Mary Monroe became a published author in 1985 with the novel The Upper Room. However, it would be another 15 years and hundreds of rejection letters before she would get a contract for another novel, which was God Don’t Like Ugly, published in 2000. Below is a list of Mary Monroe’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Mary Monroe releases a new book at

Publication Order of God Don't Like Ugly Books

God Don't Like Ugly (2000)Description / Buy at
God Still Don't Like Ugly (2003)Description / Buy at
God Don't Play (2006)Description / Buy at
God Ain't Blind (2008)Description / Buy at
God Ain't Through Yet (2010)Description / Buy at
God Don't Make No Mistakes (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lexington, Alabama / Wiggins Books

Publication Order of Lonely Heart, Deadly Heart Books

Every Woman's Dream (2016)Description / Buy at
Can You Keep a Secret? (2016)Description / Buy at
Never Trust a Stranger (2017)Description / Buy at
The Devil You Know (2017)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Lonely Heart, Deadly Heart Books

Can You Keep a Secret? is a prequel to the Lonely Heart, Deadly Heart series.

Publication Order of Mama Ruby Books

Publication Order of Neighbors Books

One House Over (2018)Description / Buy at
Over the Fence (2019)Description / Buy at
Across the Way (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Gonna Lay Down My Burdens (2002)Description / Buy at
Red Light Wives (2004)Description / Buy at
In Sheep's Clothing (2005)Description / Buy at
Deliver Me From Evil (2007)Description / Buy at
She Had It Coming (2008)Description / Buy at
The Company We Keep (2009)Description / Buy at
Family of Lies (2014)Description / Buy at
Bad Blood (2015)Description / Buy at
Remembrance (2018)Description / Buy at
Right Beside You (2019)Description / Buy at
The Gift of Family (2020)Description / Buy at
Once in a Lifetime (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Borrow Trouble (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Our Prince of Scribes(2018)Description / Buy at

Note: The collection Borrow Trouble includes Mary Monroe’s story Nightmare in Paradise as well as Bad Luck Shadow by Victor McGlothin.

If You Like Mary Monroe Books, You’ll Love…

Mary Monroe Synopsis: In Family of Lies by Mary Monroe, Vera Lomax grew up poor so she did everything she could to find herself a wealthy spouse. Now she’s living the good life in San Francisco, and her only duty is to be a good wife to her older husband. So when his mistress ends up pregnant, Vera figures a little money to keep quiet will ensure that she will be his lone heir. Unfortunately, Sarah Cooper is the child that Kenneth Lomax had always dreamed of. When the father she never met appears at her mother’s funeral to claim her, her life goes from rags to riches. But Sarah is aware that her stepmom is two-faced. And after she’s lost all the family she had, she expects a life richer than what Vera wants her to have. While Vera and Sarah plot to get what they want, sides will be picked, chances will be taken and everything will be gambled.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mary Monroe Books

One Response to “Order of Mary Monroe Books”

  1. yvette silver: 8 years ago

    What is the first book to the Trilogy of The Summer’s End?


Leave a Reply