Mason Cross is the creator and author of the Carter Blake series of books. Blake is a truly enigmatic character and has been praised as one of the most original character since Jack Reacher. Cross is a Scottish author who currently lives in Glasgow with his family.

Cross was born in Glasgow in 1979 and spent his life there until attending university at the University of Stirling where he studied English. In addition to writing, he also works doing work in the voluntary which has crossed over into his novels.

Get notified when Mason Cross releases a new book at

Publication Order of Carter Blake Books

The Killing Season (2014)Description / Buy at
The Samaritan (2015)Description / Buy at
The Time to Kill / Winterlong (2016)Description / Buy at
Don't Look For Me (2017)Description / Buy at
Presumed Dead (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

What She Saw Last Night (As: M.J. Cross) (2019)Description / Buy at
Hunted (As: Alex Knight) (2020)Description / Buy at
Darkness Falls (As: Alex Knight) (2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mason Cross Books, You’ll Love…

The Killing Season is the first book in the Carter Blake series. This one introduces us to the titular character who is called upon by the FBI due to his unique set of skills. The infamous “Chicago Sniper” has escaped from jail just before his execution and begins shooting his way across the country. Blake will need to think and act fast in order to stop him and save lives. When he gets sidelined, he realizes that there might be much more to this case than just an escape serial killer. Something that will put him at odds with the FBI itself.

Cross followed that book up with The Samaritan. In this book, Blake ends up volunteering his services as a killer called “the Samaritan” is on the loose. An LAPD detective find a mutilated woman and feels a sense of familiarity as this case resembles one from her past that took place on the other side of the country. When she becomes stumped, Blake shows up and he has an uncanny ability to predict the killer’s next move. A little too uncanny as he shares a lot of characteristics with the killer. There’s a reason for that and Blake will need to dig deep into his past to catch him.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mason Cross Books

3 Responses to “Order of Mason Cross Books”

  1. karen sumner: 2 years ago

    will there be more carter blake stories do you think?


    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      Yes I am sure I read he will continue the series. Hope so!


  2. jackson coleman-burke: 4 years ago

    thumb;s up for all the work you do!


Leave a Reply