Matt Coyle is an American author of crime thriller novels. He writes the Rick Cahill series. Matt decided he wanted to write crime at age 14 when his dad gave him The Simple Art of Murder by Raymond Chandler. His books have won a slew of awards, including the Anthony, Ben Franklin Silver, Foreword Reviews Book of the Year Silver, and San Diego Book Awards, plus several nominations as well. Matt lives in San Diego, California.

Matt Coyle made his debut as a published author in 2013 with the novel Yesterday’s Echo. Below is a list of Matt Coyle’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Matt Coyle releases a new book at

Publication Order of Rick Cahill Books

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

Coast to Coast: Private Eyes from Sea to Shining Sea(2017)Description / Buy at
Sisters in Crime/Los Angeles Presents LAst Resort(2017)Description / Buy at
Stop the World: Snapshots from a Pandemic(2020)Description / Buy at
Promophobia: Taking the Mystery Out of Promoting Crime Fiction(2022)Description / Buy at

Note: LAst Resort was edited with Mary Marks and Patricia Smiley.

If You Like Matt Coyle Books, You’ll Love…

Matt Coyle Synopsis: Last Resort is an anthology edited by Matt Coyle, Mary Marks, and Patricia Smiley. This anthology chronicles the misdeeds and downfalls of characters drawn to Los Angeles. The sun-kissed city of high hopes and second chances, where everyone seems to be from somewhere else. A siren’s call to dreamers, misfits, mystics and freaks, lost souls and purveyors of sin. They roll in on their last tank of gas, their suitcases bulging with secrets of pasts better forgotten. They stay for a few days, a month, a year, a lifetime. The determined and the desperate, careening and colliding toward trouble, and their last resort.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Matt Coyle Books

Leave a Reply