Matt Ruff is an American fiction writer. He is best known as the author of Bad Monkeys which won numerous awards and was optioned for film and Lovecraft Country which is an HBO series produced by the great Jordan Peele.

Matt knew he wanted to be a writer from a young age and spent much of his younger years learning how to tell stories. He would attend Cornell University and wrote his first novel, Fool on the Hill as his thesis in Honors English. His professor was so impressed that she helped him find a publisher for that book which allowed him to make writing his career. His big breakout came with Set This House in Order which won the James Tiptree, Jr. Award, a Washington State Book Award, and a Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Award.

Get notified when Matt Ruff releases a new book at

Publication Order of Lovecraft Country Books

Lovecraft Country (2016)Description / Buy at
The Destroyer of Worlds (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Collections

Sewer, Gas and Electric (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The James Tiptree Award Anthology Books

The James Tiptree Award Anthology 1 (2004)Description / Buy at
The James Tiptree Award Anthology 2 (By: Joe Haldeman) (2005)Description / Buy at
The James Tiptree Award Anthology 3 (By: Jeffrey D. Smith) (2007)Description / Buy at
The James Tiptree Award Anthology 4 (By: Jeffrey D. Smith) (2008)Description / Buy at
Anthology series.

If You Like Matt Ruff Books, You’ll Love…

Lovecraft Country takes place in Chicago 1954 at the height of Jim Crow America. Atticus Turner is in the South and makes his return to Chicago on the behest of his father. However, once he arrives he finds that his father has gone to New England after a piece of Montrose’s history. Montrose, his childhood friend Letitia, and his uncle head East to find him and end up meeting with a secret cabal named the Order of the Ancient Dawn who have their own designs on Montrose.

A humorous story by Ruff is called Fool on the Hill. The book focuses on Stephen Titus George who is a young writer-in-residence at Cornell University. He’s had some success as a writer, but finds himself in search of his next story. He finds himself transported into a modern fairly tale where he becomes the would-be knight trying to woo a lovely maiden, or choose between two. While the unseen Mr. Sunshine is the one pulling the strings in the background.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Matt Ruff Books

Leave a Reply