Michael Hambling is an English author best known for his DCI Sophie Allen series of crime novels. He typically sets his novels in the West of England where he lives as his familiarity with the area given them an added sense of realism.

Hambling found a love of reading from a young age and remembers going to the local library four times in one day as a young boy to check out new books. The library had a rule that children could only take one book at a time so he would finish his book and then return.

Get notified when Michael Hambling releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of DCI Sophie Allen Books

Publication Order of The Misfits Books

The Lost Tramp (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Missing Pilot (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Poisoned Meadow (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Michael Hambling Books, You’ll Love…

Dark Crimes is the first book in the Detective Sophie Allen series of books. This book introduces us the the detective as she is on the case of a young woman’s murder. Her body is found on a deserted footpath near a seaside town late in November with a stab wound through the heart. The crime seems simple at first, but when the women’s mother is also found strangled the case grows more complex and complicated. The women have secrets involving violence that could be the key to their past and Allen is not convinced the easy suspect is the correct one.

Another great book in the series is called Evil Crimes. The book sees Allen investigating a death involving a young man and a ledge near the sea. He may have just fallen in the brutal winds, but Detective Sophie Allen feels that there may be a more sinister cause and the death may be linked to a suicide from six months earlier. A young female is the connection between the cases and Allen will need to figure out if it is her doing this evil or if someone else is behind the scenes pulling her strings.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Michael Hambling Books

Leave a Reply