Nicola Upson
Nicola Upson is an English author of historical mystery novels. She writes the Josephine Tey Mysteries series, based on the classic mystery author of the same name. Nicola studied English at Downing College, Cambridge. Before becoming novelist, she worked in theatre and as a freelance journalist. Nicola is the winner of the Escalator Award from Arts Council England. She lives with her partner and splits her time between the cities of Cambridge and Cornwall.

Nicola Upson became a published novelist in 2008 with the novel An Expert in Murder, featuring Josephine Tey. Below is a list of Nicola Upson’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Nicola Upson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Josephine Tey Books

An Expert in Murder (2008)Description / Buy at
Angel with Two Faces (2009)Description / Buy at
Two for Sorrow (2010)Description / Buy at
Fear in the Sunlight (2012)Description / Buy at
The Death of Lucy Kyte (2013)Description / Buy at
London Rain (2015)Description / Buy at
Nine Lessons (2017)Description / Buy at
Sorry for the Dead (2019)Description / Buy at
The Secrets of Winter / Dead of Winter (2020)Description / Buy at
Dear Little Corpses (2022)Description / Buy at
Shot With Crimson (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Stanley and Elsie (2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Nicola Upson Books, You’ll Love…

Nicola Upson Synopsis: An Expert in Murder by Nicola Upson is the author’s first novel featuring Josephine Tey as a character. Mystery author Josephine Tey is making the trip from Scotland to London for the last week of her play, which has been a rousing success. Its pacifistic themes are resonating during the spring of 1934. But the good times come to an end when a woman she met on the train is found murdered – a mystery that would fit in a Josephine Tey novel. D.I. Archie Penrose believes that this murder has something to do with Tey’s play and Tey herself may become a victim. Following a second murder, Tey and Inspector Penrose must team together to stop a killer who won’t stop on his own accord.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Nicola Upson Books

Leave a Reply