Patricia Moyes (1923-2000) was a British author of mystery novels. She wrote the Inspector Henry Tibbett series. Patricia (or “Penny”) was born in Dublin, and was educated in Northampton. She worked for Peter Ustinov as a technical assistant and later a personal assistant for eight years. She co-wrote the screenplay for the film School for Scoundrels. She would also work as an assistant editor for the British version of Vogue. Following a major success translating the play Time Remembered, she left the magazine in order to start writing mysteries.

Patricia Moyes made her debut as a novelist in 1959 with Dead Men Don’t Ski, introducing readers to Inspector Tibbett. Below is a list of Patricia Moyes’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Inspector Henry Tibbett Mystery Books

Dead Men Don't Ski (1959)Description / Buy at
The Sunken Sailor / Down Among the Dead Men (1961)Description / Buy at
Death on the Agenda (1962)Description / Buy at
Murder à la Mode (1963)Description / Buy at
Falling Star (1964)Description / Buy at
Johnny Underground (1965)Description / Buy at
Murder Fantastical / Murder By Threes (1967)Description / Buy at
Death and the Dutch Uncle (1968)Description / Buy at
Who Saw Her Die / Many Deadly Returns (1970)Description / Buy at
Season of Snows and Sins (1971)Description / Buy at
The Curious Affair of the Third Dog (1973)Description / Buy at
Black Widower (1975)Description / Buy at
To Kill a Coconut / The Coconut Killings (1977)Description / Buy at
Who Is Simon Warwick? (1978)Description / Buy at
Angel Death (1980)Description / Buy at
A Six-Letter Word for Death (1983)Description / Buy at
Night ferry to death (1985)Description / Buy at
Black Girl, White Girl (1989)Description / Buy at
Twice in a Blue Moon (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Who Killed Father Christmas? (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Suit of Diamonds(1991)Description / Buy at
Mystery Cats(1991)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 5(1996)Description / Buy at
A Century of British Mystery and Suspense(2000)Description / Buy at
Murder Most Merry(2002)Description / Buy at
Not Everyone's Cup of Tea(2013)Description / Buy at

If You Like Patricia Moyes Books, You’ll Love…

Patricia Moyes Synopsis: Down Among the Dead Men (aka The Sunken Sailor) is the second book in the Inspector Tibbett series by Patricia Moyes. Inspector Tibbett is simply trying to have a nice vacation, but crime has its own idea. Tibbett and his cheerful wife, Emmy, are taking it easy on a friend’s yacht, tacking from one little English seaside town to the next, and it should all be delicious indolence… except that Henry can’t stop get death off his mind – actually, one death, in particular. The death of a local sailor. And he especially can’t stop thinking about it when it starts looking as though the drowned sailor is somehow connected to the robbery at a nearby manor-house.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Patricia Moyes Books

Leave a Reply