Paul Clayton is an American author of historical fiction and science fiction books. He is the auhtor of White Seed: The Untold Story of the Lost Colony of Roanoke which was a semifinalist in the Amazon ABNA awards, a Readers Choice Bronze Medalist, and a Finalist at the International Book Awards.

Clayton is best known as the author of the The Southeast trilogy of historical fiction novels about the Spanish Conquest of the Floridas. He also writes science fiction and fantasy stories that pay homage to the sci-fi greats. Clayton currently makes his home in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Get notified when Paul Clayton releases a new book at

Publication Order of Calling Crow Books

Calling Crow (2011)Description / Buy at
Flight of the Crow (2011)Description / Buy at
Calling Crow Nation (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Carl Melcher Goes to Vietnam (2003)Description / Buy at
White Seed (2009)Description / Buy at
In the Shape of a Man (2013)Description / Buy at
Van Ripplewink (2016)Description / Buy at
Crossing Over (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Strange Worlds (2012)Description / Buy at
Talk to a Real, Live Girl (2019)Description / Buy at
Escape From the Future and Other Stories (2022)Description / Buy at

If You Like Paul Clayton Books, You’ll Love…

Calling Crow is the first book in the Southeast series. The book follows Calling Crow who is haunted by a dream of the Destroyer. He dreams that the Destroyer will make its way to his village and destroy it. When Spanish colonial slavers from the island of Hispaniola arrive on the shores of the Southeast, he is convinced they’ve come. Crow and and another brave are taken into slavery where they end up in the gold pits. Calling Crow refuses to has his spirit broken and sets out to learn their language and their ways in order to save his own people, but he’ll need to regain his freedom first.

Talk to a Real, Live Girl: And Other Stories is a collection of light science fiction tales from Clayton. He wrote this book to read like episodes of beloved classic sci-fi TV series. All of the stories are quick, enjoyable reads as Clayton has a way of immersing readers almost immediately in the narrative of his stories. The main story in the book is “Talk to a Real, Live Girl” which sees a man not interested in robot women and waiting for the right real, live girl.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Paul Clayton Books

Leave a Reply