Pearl S Buck
Pearl S. Buck (1892–1973) was an American author of literary fiction, non-fiction and children’s books. She won the Pulitzer Prize and the William Dean Howells Medal for her novel The Good Earth. Pearl was the daughter of American missionaries and spent much of her early life in China, which is where she set the majority of her novels and wrote about in non-fiction books. Following civil unrest in China, Buck returned to the United States in 1934. She also supported many causes, including civil rights, women’s rights and helping to establish Welcome House, the first international/interracial adoption agency. Buck was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1938, making her the first American woman to receive such an honour. She died in Vermont in 1973.

Pearl S. Buck became a published novelist in 1930 with the novel East Wind: West Wind. After a prolific career, her final published novel was 1974’s The Rainbow. Below is a list of Pearl S. Buck’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of House Of Earth Books

(with SparkNotes)

The Good Earth (1931)Description / Buy at
The Good Earth Spark Notes (With: SparkNotes) (1932)Description / Buy at
Sons (1932)Description / Buy at
A House Divided (1935)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

East Wind: West Wind (1930)Description / Buy at
The Mother (1933)Description / Buy at
The Big Wave (1938)Description / Buy at
This Proud Heart (1938)Description / Buy at
The Patriot (1939)Description / Buy at
Other Gods (1940)Description / Buy at
Portrait of a Marriage (1940)Description / Buy at
Dragon Seed (1941)Description / Buy at
The Promise (1943)Description / Buy at
The Long Love (As: John Sedges) (1944)Description / Buy at
The Townsman (As: John Sedges) (1944)Description / Buy at
Voices in the House (As: John Sedges) (1944)Description / Buy at
Pavilion of Women (As: John Sedges) (1946)Description / Buy at
The Angry Wife (1947)Description / Buy at
Peony (1948)Description / Buy at
The Bondmaid (1949)Description / Buy at
Kinfolk (1950)Description / Buy at
God's Men (1951)Description / Buy at
Bright Procession (As: John Sedges) (1952)Description / Buy at
The Hidden Flower (1952)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Changed China (1953)Description / Buy at
Come, My Beloved (1953)Description / Buy at
Imperial Woman (1956)Description / Buy at
China Sky (1956)Description / Buy at
Letter from Peking (1957)Description / Buy at
Command the Morning (1959)Description / Buy at
The Christmas Ghost (1960)Description / Buy at
The Devil Never Sleeps (1962)Description / Buy at
The Living Reed (1963)Description / Buy at
The Time is Noon (1966)Description / Buy at
Death in the Castle (1966)Description / Buy at
Matthew, Mark, Luke and John (1967)Description / Buy at
The New Year (1968)Description / Buy at
The Three Daughters of Madame Liang (1969)Description / Buy at
Mandala (1970)Description / Buy at
Chinese Story Teller (1971)Description / Buy at
The Goddess Abides (1972)Description / Buy at
The Beech Tree and Johnny Jack and His Beginnings (1972)Description / Buy at
All Under Heaven (1973)Description / Buy at
Far and Near (1973)Description / Buy at
The Rainbow (1974)Description / Buy at
The Eternal Wonder (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The First Wife and Other Stories (1933)Description / Buy at
Today and Forever: Stories of Japan (1941)Description / Buy at
Once Upon a Christmas (1950)Description / Buy at
One Bright Day and Other Stories for Children (1952)Description / Buy at
Fourteen Stories (1961)Description / Buy at
With a Delicate Air and Other Stories (1962)Description / Buy at
To My Daughters, With Love (1967)Description / Buy at
The Good Deed and Other Stories of Asia Past and Present (1969)Description / Buy at
The Story Bible, Volume I: The Old Testament (1971)Description / Buy at
Pearl S. Buck: The Complete Woman (1971)Description / Buy at
The Story Bible, Volume II: The New Testament (1972)Description / Buy at
Words of Love (1974)Description / Buy at
Pearl S. Buck's Book of Christmas (1974)Description / Buy at
East and West (1975)Description / Buy at
Mrs. Stoner and the Sea and Other Works (1976)Description / Buy at
Secrets of the Heart (1976)Description / Buy at
Hearts Come Home and Other Stories (1976)Description / Buy at
The Lovers and Other Stories (1977)Description / Buy at
The Woman Who Was Changed and Other Stories (1979)Description / Buy at
A Pearl Buck Reader, Vol. 1 (1985)Description / Buy at
A Pearl Buck Reader, Vol. 2 (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Christmas Day in the Morning (2002)Description / Buy at
The Christmas Mouse (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

The Young Revolutionist (1932)Description / Buy at
A Field of Rice (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Exile (1936)Description / Buy at
Fighting Angel: Portrait of a Soul (1937)Description / Buy at
The Chinese Novel (1939)Description / Buy at
Of Men and Women (1941)Description / Buy at
Freedom for India Now! (1942)Description / Buy at
The Child Who Never Grew (1950)Description / Buy at
American Argument (1950)Description / Buy at
My Several Worlds (1954)Description / Buy at
Tell the People: Talks with James Yen About the Mass Educational Movement (1959)Description / Buy at
A Bridge for Passing (1962)Description / Buy at
Joy of Children (1964)Description / Buy at
The Joy of Children (1964)Description / Buy at
The People of Japan (1966)Description / Buy at
For Spacious Skies (With: Theodore F. Harris) (1966)Description / Buy at
The Kennedy Women (1970)Description / Buy at
Pearl Buck's America (1971)Description / Buy at
China As I See It (1971)Description / Buy at
China Past and Present (1972)Description / Buy at
American Unity and Asia (1972)Description / Buy at
Pearl S. Buck's Oriental Cookbook (1972)Description / Buy at
What America Means to Me (1973)Description / Buy at
Argument Argument (2007)Description / Buy at
New Evidence of the Militarization of America (2011)Description / Buy at
How It Happens (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Au bord de l'eau Books

(with Luo Guanzhong, Shi Nai'an)

Water Margin: Outlaws of the Marsh (By: Shi Nai'an,Edwin Lowe,J.H. Jackson) (1370)Description / Buy at
All Men Are Brothers (By: Luo Guanzhong,Shi Nai'an) (1370)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Ten Modern American Short Stories(1965)Description / Buy at
Fairy Tales of the Orient(1965)Description / Buy at
Great Biographies: P.T. Barnum, Pearl S. Buck, Adolf Hitler, John Quincy and Louisa Adams(1987)Description / Buy at
The Clay Marble, with, Connections(1998)Description / Buy at
Home for Christmas: Stories for Young and Old(2002)Description / Buy at

Note: The Long Love, The Townsman, Voices in the House, Pavilion of Women and The Angry Wife were written as John Sedges.

If You Like Pearl S. Buck Books, You’ll Love…

Pearl S. Buck Synopsis: East Wind: West Wind by Pearl S. Buck is told through the perspective of Kwei-lan, a traditional Chinese girl. Kwei-lan married a Chinese medical doctor and was educated abroad. The story follows Kwei-lan as she begins to accept different points of view from the west, and re-discovers who she is through this coming-of-age tale.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Pearl S. Buck Books

Leave a Reply