PL Gaus
Paul L. Gaus is an American author of Amish-themed mystery novels. He writes the Amish-Country Mysteries series. He was born in Ohio, where he has lived for most of his life. Gaus got his B.S. from Miami University and his Ph.D from Duke University and had a long career teaching chemistry at the freshman, junior and senior levels. He gained his knowledge of the Amish from being around the Amish and Mennonite people of Ohio. Gaus became interested in writing in 1993 and was encouraged to start by the late Tony Hillerman. He is often found lecturing about the Amish culture in libraries, bookstores and literary societies. Gaus and his wife Madonna still make frequent trips to Holmes County, Ohio, where his Amish-Country Mysteries are set.

P.L. Gaus made his debut as a published novelist in 1999 with the novel Blood of the Prodigal. He followed that up the next year with Broken English. Below is a list of P.L. Gaus’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when P.L. Gaus releases a new book at

Publication Order of Amish-Country Mysteries Books

Blood of the Prodigal (1999)Description / Buy at
Broken English (2000)Description / Buy at
Clouds Without Rain (2001)Description / Buy at
Cast a Blue Shadow (2003)Description / Buy at
A Prayer for the Night (2006)Description / Buy at
Separate from the World (2008)Description / Buy at
Harmless as Doves (2011)Description / Buy at
The Names of Our Tears (2013)Description / Buy at
Whiskers of the Lion (2015)Description / Buy at
Stars for Lydia (2019)Description / Buy at
English Shade (2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like P.L. Gaus Books, You’ll Love…

P.L. Gaus Synopsis: In Blood of the Prodigal by P.L. Gaus (the first Amish-Country Mystery), a college professor, pastor and county sheriff are the only mainstream people who can work well with all of the people in the county. When an Amish boy is kidnapped, a worried bishop sends the three “English” (how Amish refer to mainstreamers) into the closed Amish community.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of P.L. Gaus Books

Leave a Reply