Qiu Xiaolong
Qiu Xiaolong is a Chinese author of crime thriller novels as well as a poet and translator. He writes the Inspector Chen series. Xiaolong came to the United States simply to write a book about poet T.S. Eliot, but was unable to return home due to political reasons. He lives in St. Louis, Missouri with his wife and daughter.

Qiu Xiaolong became a published author in 2000 with the novel Death of a Red Heroine, which began his Inspector Chen series. The novel won the Anthony Award for Best First Novel in 2001. Below is a list of Qiu Xiaolong’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Qiu Xiaolong releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Inspector Chen Books

Death of a Red Heroine (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Loyal Character Dancer (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
When Red is Black (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Case of Two Cities (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Red Mandarin Dress (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Mao Case (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Don't Cry, Tai Lake (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Enigma of China (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Shanghai Redemption (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hold Your Breath, China (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Becoming Inspector Chen (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Inspector Chen and the Private Kitchen Murder (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Love and Murder in the Time of Covid (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Inspector Chen Collections

Poems of Inspector Chen (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Inspector Chen and Me (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of A Judge Dee Investigation Books

The Shadow of the Empire (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Lines Around China (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Years of Red Dust (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Disappearing Shanghai: Photographs and Poems of an Intimate Way of Life (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Poetry Collections

Classic Chinese Love Poems (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Poems of Tang and Song Dynasties (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Treasury of Chinese Love Poems(2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Evoking Tang(2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Flash Fiction International(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Qiu Xiaolong Books, You’ll Love…

Qiu Xiaolong Synopsis: Lines Around China by Qiu Xialong is a poetry collection divided into three parts. The first part (“Lines Out of China”) consists of poems written in the U.S.; the second part (“Lines in China”) is made up of poems that Qiu wrote while on his frequent trips to China and older Chinese poems that have been translated into English; finally, the last part (“Cathay Revisited”) is Qiu’s translations of classical Chinese poetry.

Shop Worldwide: Amazon.com | Amazon.co.uk | Amazon.ca

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Qiu Xiaolong Books

Leave a Reply