Rosamunde Pilcher
Rosamunde Pilcher (1924-2019) was a British author of romance novels. Although it came somewhat late in her career, her breakthrough novel was the 1987 novel The Shell Seekers. She has stated that writing saved her marriage to Graham Hope Pilcher (who passed away in 2009). She is the mother of novelist Robin Pilcher.

Rosamunde Pilcher became a published author in 1949, writing as Jane Fraser. She didn’t debut writing under her real name until A Secret to Tell in 1955 and abandoned her pen name after her 1963 novel A Long Way from Home. Rosamunde retired in 2000, following the novel Winter Solstice. Below is a list of Rosamunde Pilcher’s books in order of when they were first published:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Brown Fields (As:Jane Fraser) (1951)Description / Buy at
Dangerous Intruder (As:Jane Fraser) (1951)Description / Buy at
Young Bar (As: Jane Fraser) (1952)Description / Buy at
A Day Like Spring (As:Jane Fraser) (1953)Description / Buy at
Dear Tom (As:Jane Fraser) (1954)Description / Buy at
A Secret to Tell (1955)Description / Buy at
Bridge of Corvie (As:Jane Fraser) (1956)Description / Buy at
A Family Affair (As:Jane Fraser) (1958)Description / Buy at
A Long Way from Home (As:Jane Fraser) (1963)Description / Buy at
The Keeper's House (As:Jane Fraser) (1963)Description / Buy at
On My Own (1965)Description / Buy at
Sleeping Tiger (1967)Description / Buy at
Another View (1969)Description / Buy at
The End of Summer (1971)Description / Buy at
Snow in April (1972)Description / Buy at
The Empty House (1973)Description / Buy at
The Day of the Storm (1975)Description / Buy at
Under Gemini (1976)Description / Buy at
Wild Mountain Thyme (1979)Description / Buy at
The Carousel (1982)Description / Buy at
Voices in Summer (1984)Description / Buy at
The Shell Seekers (1987)Description / Buy at
September (1990)Description / Buy at
Coming Home (1995)Description / Buy at
Winter Solstice (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Blue Bedroom and Other Stories (1985)Description / Buy at
Flowers in the Rain and Other Stories (1991)Description / Buy at
The World of Rosamunde Pilcher (1995)Description / Buy at
Christmas with Rosamunde Pilcher (1997)Description / Buy at
A Place Like Home (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Love Stories(1990)Description / Buy at
The Anthology of Love and Romance(1994)Description / Buy at

Note: All of her novels until 1965 were written as Jane Fraser, except for A Secret to Tell.

If You Like Rosamunde Pilcher Books, You’ll Love…

Rosamunde Pilcher Synopsis: The Shell Seekers is one of the most famous novels written by Rosamunde Pilcher. Penelope Keeling is very proud of a painting titled “The Shell Seekers,” which her father painted. It symbolizes her unconventional life. When it is discovered that it is worth a lot of money, all of her adult children have their own plans, but Penelope knows that the only choice is in her heart. The novel sold over 5 million copies and was adapted into a stageplay by Terence Brady and Charlotte Bingham.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Rosamunde Pilcher Books

10 Responses to “Order of Rosamunde Pilcher Books”

  1. Margaret Lavender: 2 years ago

    I’ve got quite a few of her books, and I’m trying to find a complete list of when and what years they are set. NOT the chronology publication dates.
    Even tho the books are not sequels, I do very much like to read books in order of time. For instance if one book starts pre WW11 but another is after the war, I want to read the pre WW11 book first.
    Can anyone help and email me with such a list please? Thank you.


  2. Peter David Henderson: 3 years ago

    Is there a stand alone book called Nancherrow? My wife says it is in our bookcase somewhere but she can’t find it!


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Not a book. There was a TV movie which was a sequel to “Coming Home”. Maybe you have the VHS on the bookshelf 😉


      • Peter Henderson: 3 years ago

        Thank you for your prompt reply. Problem solved!!!


  3. Laurie Livingston: 5 years ago

    This is one of the most endearing, cannot put it down authors I’ve ever read! I’ve given away soooo many copies of “Shell Seekers ” just to introduce a wonderful author to friends-and get them hooked on her!


  4. Carolin Clark: 10 years ago

    The Other Wife TV series by Rosamunde Pilcher Can you buy this on dvd or is this also a book?


    • Brandon: 10 years ago

      Carol, I am able to find info on the TV series you’re looking for, and it says it is adapted from a novel, but I can’t find anything more than that. I don’t know if the novel has another title or what.


  5. KL: 10 years ago

    You surely cant categorise Barbara Taylor Bradford with Rosamund Pilcher. If you like RP you wont necessarily like (wont!) BTB


    • Brandon: 10 years ago

      They’re based on what people who bought Pilcher also bought. If you have an alternative suggestion, I’ll be more than happy to switch it.


    • Laurie Livingston: 5 years ago

      I agree-I love Pilcher, but not at all a fan of Bradford.


Leave a Reply