Rosemary Kirstein is an American author of fantasy novels. She writes the Steerswomen series. Rosemary was born in Leominster, Massachusetts to German parents, and grew up in Connecticut. It was there that she studied music education at Central Connecticut University for a while before dropping out to work as a musician and songwriter. In the ’80s she moved to Greenwich Village and worked as a folk singer, holding various odd jobs, then became a computer programmer. For the past 15 years she has supported herself with a variety of IT jobs, including programming, technical writing, tech support, and user training. She lives near Boston.

Rosemary Kirstein made her debut as a published novelist in 1989 with the novel The Steerswoman. Below is a list of Rosemary Kirstein’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Rosemary Kirstein releases a new book at

Publication Order of Steerswoman Books

The Steerswoman (1989)Description / Buy at
The Outskirter's Secret (1992)Description / Buy at
The Lost Steersman (2003)Description / Buy at
The Language of Power (2004)Description / Buy at

If You Like Rosemary Kirstein Books, You’ll Love…

Rosemary Kirstein Synopses: The Steerswoman by Rosemary Kirstein (book 1 of the Steerswomen series) is a fantasy with an underlying theme that sets rationality and science against the unknown world of magic and superstition. The heroine is a steerswoman, one of a group of mapmakers and fact collectors who is intrigued when she discovers some blue stones embedded in trees.

The Outskirter’s Secret is the second book of Rosemary Kirstein’s Steerswomen series. Determined to find out the truth about the Guidestars – two points of light that hang motionless in the sky – Rowan sets out into the Outskirts, where vicious barbarian tribes and the land itself could destroy her.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Rosemary Kirstein Books

Leave a Reply