Rosemary Simpson is an American author of the Gilded Age Mystery book series. The series began in 2017 with the release of What the Dead Leave Behind.

Simpson did many travels in her youth and had seen much of the world by the time she entered college. She eventually found a second home in France. At university, she earned her undergraduate and graduate degrees in French language and literature. Rosemary is a member of Sisters in Crime, International Thriller Writers, and the Historical Novel Society. She now makes her home in Tucson, Arizona.

Get notified when Rosemary Simpson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Gilded Age Mystery Books

What the Dead Leave Behind (2017)Description / Buy at
Lies That Comfort and Betray (2018)Description / Buy at
Let the Dead Keep Their Secrets (2018)Description / Buy at
Death Brings a Shadow (2019)Description / Buy at
Death, Diamonds, and Deception (2020)Description / Buy at
The Dead Cry Justice (2021)Description / Buy at
Death at the Falls (2022)Description / Buy at
Murder Wears a Hidden Face (2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Rosemary Simpson Books, You’ll Love…

What the Dead Leave Behind is the first book in A Gilded Age Mystery series. The book takes place as the Great Blizzard of 1888 cripples New York City. An heiress named Prudence McKenzie is sitting her home on Fifth Avenue waiting for her fiancé’s safe return. More than two hundred people will perish in the storm, her fiancé among them. However, Prudence becomes convinced that his demise was no accident. He was holding a play card, the ace of spades, in his hand when he died which was a code between him and a childhood friend, Geoffrey. Prudence turns to him for help in solving the case and protecting her inheritance.

The series continues with Lies That Comfort and Betray. This book sees Nora Kenny, a woman who works for Prudence. The two were close as children, but their social classes have lead them to a more professional relationship. One day, Nora’s body is discovered in a local park which leaves Prudence devastated. She’s one of many young women falling victim at this time and the police are confounded. Many are wondering if there is a copycat Jack the Ripper on the loose. Prudence and Geoffrey will step in to investigate.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Rosemary Simpson Books

Leave a Reply