Sadeqa Johnson is an American author best known for writing Yellow Wife and And Then There Was Me.

Johnson is a former public relations manager who worked with many well known authors before deciding to become one herself. She made her debut in 2012 with Love in a Carry-on Bag which won the Phillis Wheatley award for best fiction, OOSA best book award, and USA best book award for African-American fiction. In addition to her work as an author, Johnson teaches fiction writing for the MFA program at Drexel University.

Get notified when Sadeqa Johnson releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Love in a Carry-on Bag (2012)Description / Buy at
Second House from the Corner (2016)Description / Buy at
And Then There Was Me (2017)Description / Buy at
Yellow Wife (2021)Description / Buy at
The House of Eve (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Blaze Collection Books

Tune in Tomorrow (By: Melanie Benjamin) (2024)Description / Buy at
The June Paintings (By: Maggie Shipstead) (2024)Description / Buy at
Barriers to Entry (By: Ariel Lawhon) (2024)Description / Buy at
Fires to Come (By: Asha Lemmie) (2024)Description / Buy at
Amelia's Shadow (By: Marie Benedict) (2024)Description / Buy at
Fallen Grace (2024)Description / Buy at
The Forgotten Chapter (By: Pam Jenoff) (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sadeqa Johnson Books, You’ll Love…

Yellow Wife was named as a Best Book of 2021 by NPR and Christian Science Monitor. Pheby Delores Brown was born on a plantation in Charles City, Virginia and has lived a sheltered life ever since. Her mother is the estate’s medicine woman and the Master’s sister likes her so she is treated much better than the others on the plantation. Pheby had been promised freedom on her eighteenth birthday and is forced to leave the only home she has ever known. Instead of a life of freedom, she finds herself at the infamous Devil’s Half Acre, a jail in Richmond, Virginia, where the enslaved are broken and tortured. It is a completely different world compared to her old one where she sees the jailer’s cruelty. If she hopes to survive, Pheby will need to outwit him.

Johnson is also the author of And Then There Was Me. Bea and Awilda have been best friends since they were young. Awilda lead her shy friend in many ways and even introduced her to her husband. That last thing didn’t work out as well as Lonnie has cheated on her many times, leading Bea to struggle with self-esteem and addiction. Lonnie moves the family to a New Jersey suburb that lacks diversity, but is upper class. She is carrying their third child and reaches her breaking point when the ultimate deception snaps the thin thread that held her life together.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sadeqa Johnson Books

Leave a Reply