Sara Gruen
Sara Gruen is a Canadian-American author of literary, contemporary and historical fiction novels. She moved to the States for a technical writing job, and after getting laid off, she instead decided to try her hand at writing fiction for a living. Sara’s books have been translated into 43 languages and sold over 10 million copies. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and three sons, as well as their dogs, cats, horses, birds and a very fussy goat.

Sara Gruen made her debut as a published author in 2004 with the novel Riding Lessons. Below is a list of Sara Gruen’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Sara Gruen releases a new book at

Publication Order of Riding Lessons Books

Riding Lessons (2004)Description / Buy at
Flying Changes (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Water for Elephants (2006)Description / Buy at
Ape House (2010)Description / Buy at
At the Water's Edge (2015)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sara Gruen Books, You’ll Love…

Sara Gruen Synopsis: Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen is a standalone novel that was adapted into a major motion picture. Orphaned and destitute at the height of the Depression, Jacob Jankowski leaves behind everything he has and knows by hopping on a passing train – and inadvertently runs away with the circus. He finds a place tending the circus animals, including a seemingly untrainable elephant named Rosie. He also comes to know Marlena, the star of the equestrian act – and wife of August, a charismatic but cruel animal trainer. Caught between his love for Marlena and his need to belong in the crazy family of travelling performers, Jacob is freed only by a murderous secret that will bring the big top down.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sara Gruen Books

Leave a Reply