Sarah R. Shaber is an American author of historical mystery and spy thriller novels. She writes the Professor Simon Shaw and Louise Pearlie series. The North Carolina author won the St. Martin’s Press/Malice Domestic Award best first traditional mystery for her novel Simon Said.

Sarah R. Shaber made her debut with the novel Simon Said, published in 1997. Below is a list of Sarah R. Shaber’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Sarah R Shaber releases a new book at

Publication Order of Louise Pearlie Books

Louise's War (2011)Description / Buy at
Louise's Gamble (2012)Description / Buy at
Louise's Dilemma (2013)Description / Buy at
Louise's Blunder (2014)Description / Buy at
Louise's Chance (2016)Description / Buy at
Louise's Lies (2016)Description / Buy at
Louise's Crossing (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Louise Pearlie Short Story Collections

Two Short Stories Featuring Louise Pearlie (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Professor Simon Shaw Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Burying Ground (2007)Description / Buy at
Blood Test (2013)Description / Buy at
Four Short Stories (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Sarah R. Shaber Books, You’ll Love…

Sarah R. Shaber Synopsis: Louise’s War by Sarah R. Shaber is the first book in the Louise Pearlie series. It’s 1942. Louise Pearlie, a young widow, has come to Washington DC to work for the legendary Office of Strategic Services, the precursor to the CIA. When she discovers a document concerning the husband of her college friend Rachel Bloch – a young French Jewish woman she is desperately worried about – Louise realizes she may be able to help Rachel escape from Vichy France. But then a colleague whose help Louise has enlisted is murdered, and she realizes she is on her own, with no one to trust…

Louise’s Gamble by Sarah R. Shaber is book 2 in the Louise Pearlie series. Young widow Louise Pearlie becomes embroiled in a perilous game of mafia bosses, Nazi spies and banished royalty in this wartime novel of suspense. It’s 1942 in Washington DC. Louise Pearlie is now a chief file clerk at the legendary OSS, the precursor to the CIA, and enjoying being an independent, working woman despite wartime privations. But a casual friendship struck up with Alessa di Luca, a secretive war refugee, sucks Louise into a dangerous game of mafia bosses, Nazi spies, banished royalty and Sicilian aristocracy – placing not only her job, but her life, in jeopardy…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sarah R. Shaber Books

Leave a Reply