Sarah Waters
Sarah Waters is a British novelist of historical fiction novels. Sarah has her PhD in English Literature and has taught at the Open University. She has won the Betty Trask Award, Somerset Maugham Award, Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award, South Bank Show Award for Literature, CWA Historical Dagger and the Waterstones Author of the Year Award, in addition to being listed as one of the Best of Young British Novelists 2003 by Granta. Several of her novels have been adapted for BBC and ITV.

Sarah Waters made her debut as a published author in 1998 with her novel Tipping the Velvet. Below is a list of Sarah Waters’ books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Sarah Waters releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Tipping the Velvet (1998)Description / Buy at
Affinity (1999)Description / Buy at
Fingersmith (2002)Description / Buy at
The Night Watch (2006)Description / Buy at
The Little Stranger (2009)Description / Buy at
The Paying Guests (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Dancing with Mr. Darcy: Stories Inspired by Jane Austen and Chawton House(2010)Description / Buy at
The Women Writers' Handbook(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sarah Waters Books, You’ll Love…

Sarah Waters Synopsis: Affinity is a standalone novel by Sarah Waters. An upper-class woman recovering from a suicide attempt, Margaret Prior has started visiting the women’s ward of Millbank prison – the grimmest jail in Victorian London – as part of her rehabilitative charity work. Amongst Millbank’s murderers and common thieves, Margaret finds herself increasingly fascinated by on apparently innocent inmate, the enigmatic spiritualist Selina Dawes. Selina was imprisoned after a seance she was conducting got ugly, leaving an elderly matron dead and a young woman deeply troubled. Although initially skeptical of Selina’s abilities, Margaret is soon drawn into a twilight world of ghosts and shadows, unruly spirits and unseemly passions, until she is at last driven to formulate a plot to get Selina her freedom, as well as her own.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sarah Waters Books

Leave a Reply