Susan Eloise Hinton, better known as S.E. Hinton, is an American author of young adult fiction and children’s literature. She is best known for writing the famous novel The Outsiders when she was still a teenager. The novel was a story about two rival gangs, told from the point of view of the Greasers. The Outsiders was adapted to film in 1983 by Francis Ford Coppola, with an all-star cast of future stars including Rob Lowe, Matt Dillon, Ralph Macchio, Tom Cruise, Diane Lane, Emilio Estevez, Patrick Swayze and C. Thomas Howell. Hinton also wrote the screenplay for the adaptation of Rumble Fish alongside Coppola, who also directed.

S.E. Hinton made her fiction debut in 1967 with her most famous novel, The Outsiders. Below is a list of S.E. Hinton’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when S.E. Hinton releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Outsiders (1967)Description / Buy at
That Was Then, This Is Now (1971)Description / Buy at
Rumble Fish (1975)Description / Buy at
Tex (1979)Description / Buy at
Taming the Star Runner (1988)Description / Buy at
Hawkes Harbor (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Children's Books

The Puppy Sister (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Big David, Little David (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Some of Tim's Stories (2007)Description / Buy at

If You Like S.E. Hinton Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of S.E. Hinton Books

Leave a Reply