Simon McCleave is an English author best known for the DI Ruth Hunter crime thriller series. The series began in 2020 with the release of The Snowdonia Killings.

McLeave worked in television and film development after leaving University. He worked for the BBC as a script editor, a producer at Channel 4, and a story analyst in Los Angeles. Simon would then begin to work as a script writer, writing for series such as Eastenders, Silent Witness, and the acclaimed film Out of the Game. He decided to try his hand at writing novels and his first book was The Snowdonia Killings.

Get notified when Simon McCleave releases a new book at

Publication Order of Anglesey Books

The Dark Tide (2022)Description / Buy at
In Too Deep (2023)Description / Buy at
Blood on the Shore (2023)Description / Buy at
The Drowning Isle (2024)Description / Buy at
Dead in the Water (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of DI Ruth Hunter Books

The Theatre Street Killing (2019)Description / Buy at
The Curtis Blake Killings (2019)Description / Buy at
The Snowdonia Killings (2019)Description / Buy at
The Harlech Beach Killings (2020)Description / Buy at
The Dee Valley Killings (2020)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Cliff Killings (2020)Description / Buy at
The Berwyn River Killings (2020)Description / Buy at
The White Forest Killings (2020)Description / Buy at
The Solace Farm Killings (2020)Description / Buy at
The Menai Bridge Killings (2021)Description / Buy at
The Conway Harbour Killings (2021)Description / Buy at
The River Seine Killings (2021)Description / Buy at
The Lake Vyrnwy Killings (2022)Description / Buy at
The Chirk Castle Killings (2022)Description / Buy at
The Portmeirion Killings (2022)Description / Buy at
The Llandudno Pier Killings (2023)Description / Buy at
The Denbigh Asylum Killings (2023)Description / Buy at
The Wrexham Killings (2023)Description / Buy at
The Colwyn Bay Killings (2023)Description / Buy at
The Chester Killings (2024)Description / Buy at
The Llangollen Killings (2024)Description / Buy at
The Wirral Killings (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of DC Ruth Hunter Murder File Books

Diary of a War Crime (2021)Description / Buy at
The Razor Gang Murder (2021)Description / Buy at
An Imitation of Darkness (2021)Description / Buy at
London, SE15 (2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Simon McCleave Books, You’ll Love…

The Snowdonia Killings is the first book in the DI Ruth Hunter series. The book begins as Hunter is dealing with the pain or her partner’s mysterious disappearance. She is about to turn fifty and decides to leave her life in London for a more quiet life in North Wales. Ruth barely settles into her position when the body of a woman is discovered with symbols carved into her skin. Her investigation doesn’t start well as she struggles to eliminate anyone from her list of suspects. When another victim is dead, she’s forced to re-think the investigation and solve this case before they strike again.

The DI Ruth Hunter series continued with The Harlech Beach Killings. This book sees a murdered millionaire that Hunter is set to investigate. The case leads her to a connection with an infamous Liverpudlian drug lord. Hunter and her partner want to bring the gangster to justice, but her partner’s personal vendetta could jeopardize things. The investigation features botched raids and a slew of cold-case murders, leading Ruth to believe the criminal has corrupt players in his pocket. To solve the case, she’ll need to work fast before a hit is ordered on her.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Simon McCleave Books

One Response to “Order of Simon McCleave Books”

  1. Janet: 2 years ago

    I have really enjoyed reading all Simons books


Leave a Reply