Stephanie Gayle is an American mystery author best known for writing her Thomas Lynch series of books. Her writing has been nominated for a Pushcart Prize twice, and she is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, and International Thriller Writers.

Gayle grew up in Massachusetts and attended college at Smith College. She graduated from there and went on to work at the MIT Media Lab in the Finance department. When she is not writing or working at MIT, she can be found baking, doing yoga, knitting, or playing games. She is also the co-founder of the Boston reading series, Craft on Draft and is the Grants Liaison of the National Chapter of Sisters in Crime.

Get notified when Stephanie Gayle releases a new book at

Publication Order of Thomas Lynch Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

My Summer of Southern Discomfort (2007)Description / Buy at

If You Like Stephanie Gayle Books, You’ll Love…

Idyll Threats is the first book in the Thomas Lynch series. The book takes place in the summer of 1997 when Thomas Lynch arrives in Idyll, Connecticut to be the new chief of police. The town is very quiet and he’s not expected to do a lot of real police work, but that all changes when Cecelia North is found head on the golf course. Lynch met her a few hours before she was killed which would help the detectives on the case, but by doing so he would reveal his secret – that he’s gay. In order to find the killer and keep his secret, Lynch works the case alone.

Another good book in the series is called Idyll Hands. This book sees Thomas Lynch assisting a police officer named Micheal Finnegan on a cold case, the disappearance of Finnegan’s sister two decades ago. When a young woman’s body is found in the woods, Lynch sets Finnegan to investigate it while he does his own investigating on Finnegan’s missing sister.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Stephanie Gayle Books

Leave a Reply