Terry Shames is an American author of mystery novels. She writes the Samuel Craddock series. Terry grew up in Texas, and has always had a soft spot for its landscape and culture. It’s that small town life that inspired her fictional town of Jarrett Creek. She graduated from the University of Texas, and earned an MA from San Francisco State University. Her novels have earned multiple Macavity awards. Terry lives in Berkeley, California with her husband and dogs.

Terry Shames made her debut as a published author in 2013 with the novel A Killing at Cotton Hill. Below is a list of Terry Shames’ books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Terry Shames releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Jessie Madison Thriller Books

Perilous Waters (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Samuel Craddock Mystery Books

A Killing at Cotton Hill (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Last Death of Jack Harbin (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Dead Broke in Jarrett Creek (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Deadly Affair at Bobtail Ridge (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Necessary Murder of Nonie Blake (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Unsettling Crime for Samuel Craddock (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Reckoning in the Back Country (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Risky Undertaking for Loretta Singletary (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Murder at the Jubilee Rally (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Guilt Strikes at Granger's Store (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Unsettling Crime for Samuel Craddock is a prequel to the series and would be read first chronologically.

Publication Order of Anthologies

We'd Rather Be Writing(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Malice Domestic 14(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Terry Shames Books, You’ll Love…

Terry Shames Synopsis: A Killing at Cotton Hill is Terry Shames’ debut novel, and first book in the Samuel Craddock mysteries series. The chief of police of a small town is also an unreliable drunk. So when Dora Lee Parjeter is murdered, her old friend and former police chief Samuel Craddock steps in to investigate. He discovers that a lot of people may have had it in for Dora Lee – the conniving rascals on the farm next door, her estranged daughter, and her live-in grandson. And then there’s that stranger Dora Lee claimed was spying on her. As Craddock digs to find the identity of the killer, the human foibles of Jarrett Creek’s residents – their pettiness and generosity, their secret vices and true virtues – are also revealed.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Terry Shames Books

Leave a Reply